All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 3 posts | 
by James Vellozzi on Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:19 pm
James Vellozzi
Forum Contributor
Hi All
I am new to the printer, and with work have not had much time to play with it.
I shoot Nikon therefore I convert my raw images using Nikon software, then I bring the tiff files into PS CS3 for editing and final printing.

My question is this:
Where exactly do I set the parameters for print size? Say for instance I plan on making a 16x20 print.

PSC3 print window and epson both have places to set print size, but I cannot seem to set the exact dimensions I seek. Does print size get done in PS CS3 at Image size?

any help with specifics on this matter would be greatly appreciated! thanks so much..
Happy Fall
James Vellozzi
James Vellozzi
www.jamesvellozzi.com

by jgunning on Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:24 pm
jgunning
Forum Contributor
Print size should be set in Photoshop. Generally, you want the file to have 360 pixels per inch to go to an Epson printer. For example, if you have a file that is 4000 X 3000 pixels. Look at it in the Image/image size menu. You will see the pixel dimensions in the top half of the dialog box. In the bottom half you will see the document size that will go to a printer. You can set the 360 DPI value there. In the case above the printed document dimensions would be 8.3 in X 11.1 in.

To get to a 16x20 print from most digital cameras you will have to upsize or interpolate the image to get a larger file. A 16 X 20 file at 360 DPI needs to be 5760 X 7200 pixels.