What equipment would I need to get this shot?

Posted by backyarder1 on Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:25 am

All times are UTC-05:00

Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 27 posts | 
I'm a REAL newbie, so if you boo me off the boards, I'll understand. My hubbie and I live on a beautiful two acre piece of property in Melbourne Florida that we kept wooded. We have lots of birds but I can't figure out how to get good shots with all the shade. The trees are TALL so the birds hang out near the tops of the trees, making focusing difficult as well as almost all the shots are backlit. Lately, I have been trying to get shots of a hummingbird that is at least 15 feet above the ground sitting in the oak trees. I have a canon rebel XT with a 75-300 IS lens. Is there anyway I can get this shot with the equipment I have or would I need to upgrade?
1/250 5.6, ISO200, Focal Length 300

Posted by:
backyarder1
Forum Contributor

by bobbyz on Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:14 am
bobbyz
Forum Contributor
I would suggest that you set up some perches in your yard. Put some feeders and water. You are lucky to have such a big yard and that too in florida which is very good for birds. I would also suggest shooting from a portable blind setup in your yard. Check the messages in the essay forum.

by backyarder1 on Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:23 am
backyarder1
Forum Contributor
Thanks. I do have bird feeders, etc. but would like more natural shots. I have talked about building a blind and I think that's the best bet.

by Chris Kayler on Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:27 am
Chris Kayler
Forum Contributor