Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 15 posts | 
by Geo on Wed Jan 28, 2004 1:14 pm
Geo
Forum Contributor

Last edited by Geo on Wed Nov 09, 2005 7:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

by Greg Downing on Wed Jan 28, 2004 1:48 pm
Greg Downing
Publisher
Member #:00001
I have no experience with Dell laptops but I know people who hate them. The best advice I can offer is to use a centrino processor. This is probably the #1 important factor as it includes wireless and more importantly doubles battery life.

I have been very happy with my HP compaq nx7000 with a 1.6GHZ processor, a 60GB HD, 512MB RAM (the minimum amount I recommend) with a 15" wide-screen, a cd burner, 64meg of video memory (not shared), 3USB ports and one fire-wire, etc. It's a great machine for around 2 grand.
Greg Downing
Publisher, NatureScapes.Net
[url=http://www.gdphotography.com/]Visit my website for images, workshops and newsletters![/url]

by Steve Mason on Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:08 pm
Steve Mason
Forum Contributor
I've been very pleased with Dell notebooks, and just purchased 25 of them at the office. I've probably purchased/installed 100 in the last 3 years.
The Inspiron, and the Latitude line are both very good units.

The problem I see with the 5100 is that it doesn't seem to have the option of the Pentium M/Centrino processor.
As Greg mentioned, it's fairly important for battery life issues.
Steve Mason

by Geo on Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:45 pm
Geo
Forum Contributor

Last edited by Geo on Wed Nov 09, 2005 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

by DC on Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:54 pm
DC
Regional Moderator
Funny that, just took delivery of a Dell Inspiron 500m yesterday.
1.4 ghz, centrino, 512Mb ram, 40gb hdd 14.1" screen. So far so good. All i need know is a wirless receiver on my lan and i'm laughing :)
Dave
Some days you're the bug, some days you're the windscreen

by E.J. Peiker on Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:55 pm
E.J. Peiker