Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 7 posts | 
by cquigley on Wed Aug 27, 2003 6:07 pm
cquigley
Forum Contributor
I'm a novice wildlife photographer, and I've wondered how advanced and professional photographers keep track of camera settings so that they can note the settings along with any photos that they submit for publication. When you're rapidly photographing birds (for example) and changing settings all the time, how do you know/remember what setting you were using for a particular image? Or do you shoot a whole role at the same settings and mark the exposed roll? Thanks for any advice on this.

by Corey Deards on Wed Aug 27, 2003 6:35 pm
Corey Deards
Forum Contributor
Hi, dont know if advanced or professional aplies :D , but...
What I have done in the past is to use a small digital voice recorder. I believe some are even voice activated. This seemed more convinient than trying to write thre info down, I now use a Canon EOS 10D that records all the data for me.
Im sure others will have additional ideas. Hope this helps
Corey Deards
[b]The shortest distance between two points is........grossly over rated![/b]
[url]http://www.deardsphotography.com[/url]

by E.J. Peiker on Wed Aug 27, 2003 6:47 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
To be honest with you, in the film world there are very few pros that actually keep track of this stuff. We do however know what we typically do in various situations so it is easy to come up with shooting data that is at least close to what we actually did. In the digital age, the camera keeps track of everything for you and actually embeds it into the photo file for instant retrieval anytime.

by John Pennoyer on Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:53 pm
John Pennoyer
Forum Contributor