http://www.oregonlive.com/pacific-north ... cart_river
http://www.oregonlive.com/sports/oregon ... cart_river
http://www.oregonlive.com/environment/i ... cart_river
Topic Locked  

by Blck-shouldered Kite on Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:10 am
Blck-shouldered Kite
Forum Contributor
Hi Mike :)

The one on the cormorants angers me (as I am sure it does many of us), but I am just going to wait and see because there is nothing I or anyone can do at this time.  Their mistakes will become clearer as time passes….though they will never admit to them.

Again, in my eyes, the Corp has never done anything that is right for nature.  My opinion is formed from my exposure to them when I was a wildlife biologist in the Southeast.  Fortunately, here in Maine, we do not have any examples of the damage they do (I may be overlooking something).  The ACE did try to push through the Dickey-Lincoln Power Project in northern Maine when I was a wildlife student.  They came to campus and I guess they expected a warm welcome…LOL.  A few of us wildlife students got together and put them on the front burner during their "presentation".  They had no defense.  

Enter Robert Redford 
But that did not stop the Dickey-Lincoln Power Project in Maine.   As you all know, Mr. Redford is a staunch environmentalist.  He has been one his entire life, through all those years when environmentalists were painted as wackoes (Limbaugh's words) and social misfits.  I deeply admire Mr. Redford.  He was scheduled to come to Maine to talk at a fund raising dinner for Dem. Rep. William Hathaway (back in the 70's…right in those years when I was in and just out of wildlife school and confronted the Corp of Engineer representatives).  When I read in the paper that Mr. Redford was coming to Maine to speak for Mr Hathaway I was highly agitated because Rep. Hathaway was a staunch backer of the Dickey-Lincoln Power project for northern Maine.