All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 15 posts | 
by Jim Zipp on Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:57 am
Jim Zipp
Lifetime Member
Member #:00150
I have read that the 10D can benefit from a bit of in camera sharpening. This cannot be done (from what I can tell) if I am set to Adobe RGB for my color space. If I set the camera to sRGB in order to have some in camera sharpening will I have lost anything if I then convert to Adobe RGB at the time of conversion? I only work in RAW mode and am used to working with a 1D where I do everything in PS.
Jim Zipp
http://www.jimzippphotography.com

by Chuck Peacock on Tue Sep 23, 2003 8:33 am
Chuck Peacock
Forum Contributor
I'm no expert on the 10D (yet :) ) but if I understand correctly, you wont lose anything by keeping sRGB as the camera setting and converting with Adobe later.
Seems kind of odd though that, in general, the in camera parameters (sharpening etc.) cannot be set manually if Adobe is selected.
Someone feel free to set me straight if I'm not correct.
I'd also like to know what others do for sharpening in camera w/ the 10D.
Chuck

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:32 am
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
As long as you are shooting RAW nothing is lost. Just set your RAW converter to output an Adobe RGB file as the default. This is the stupidest thing about the 10D and I was hoping that a firmware correction for this would have apperaed by no but nooooooooooooo. :)

by Greg Downing on Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:59 am
Greg Downing
Publisher
Member #:00001