Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 12 posts | 
by W S Sherman on Fri Sep 12, 2003 8:54 am
W S Sherman
Forum Contributor
I hope that the PS7 doctors out their can help me. As a newbe to the digital darkroom I am having problems with the PS7 cropping tool. When I crop a photo it freezes up the computer once I try to complete the corp. Is there fix to this problem short of reloading PS? Remember when you reply I am new to this computer stuff. The comment, "you can't teach an old dog new tricks" is hitting close to home.

by E.J. Peiker on Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:58 am
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
Hmm, I have not seen that particular lock-up. Before you reinstall, kill your preferences and reset them up to see if that takes care of the problem. PS seems to be prone to having that file corrupted. Go to the third and fifth post in this thread to see how to do it.

http://www.naturescapes.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=486

Last edited by E.J. Peiker on Wed Sep 17, 2003 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by Rich S on Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:00 pm
Rich S
Lifetime Member
Member #:00019
Well E.J., you've confused me and I thought I knew a little about PS7! :)

I haven't had a problem but wonder if the crop tool is the only thing that's causing this problem. That is, is crop the first thing you're doing and then it's freezing? Does it freeze when you try image>adjustment>levels or something similar? If you try resizing first, say to something much smaller, do you still get the same problem? If not, then memory might be an issue. Otherwise, my guess is that re-installing is the solution. Good luck.

Rich

by W S Sherman on Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:49 pm
W S Sherman
Forum Contributor
Rich S; Thanks for your reply. The problem occurs when ever I use the corp tool. It doesn't matter if I crop first or last.
Steve Sherman

by Brent V on Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:55 pm
Brent V
Forum Contributor