fbpixel

Moderators: Greg Downing, E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by Bill Chambers on Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:41 am
User avatar
Bill Chambers
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3863
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Location: Milton, Florida
I installed new drives yesterday, and I ran Synctoy (on Echo) to copy files to two other drives for back-ups.  After it ran it had quite a few failures displayed.  I was wondering if anyone could tell how to find out what files failed to copy, and what caused the failures, and what to do about it?

Screenshot of final result:
Image
When life deals you lemons, make lemonade; when it deals you tomatoes, make Bloody Mary's.
Unattributed

Please visit my web site, Enchanted Light Photography.
Bill Chambers
Gulf Breeze, Florida
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Jul 05, 2020 5:55 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85016
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
SyncToy copies data files, not system files or hidden files. It isn't a clone tool, it's a data backup tool. What is on your B drive? Is it a system drive or a data drive or a bit of both? 99.9% of the time, this is not an issue and it's just system oriented files.
 

by Bill Chambers on Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:23 am
User avatar
Bill Chambers
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3863
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Location: Milton, Florida
The only files that I have put on B: drive is images. This is my new 12TB hard drive and I ran Synctoy from it to the new 12TB external drive. The only files I've ever put on the previous 4TB drive this one replaced were image files as well.

When you format a new drive, does that place any kind of system or data files on the drive?
When life deals you lemons, make lemonade; when it deals you tomatoes, make Bloody Mary's.
Unattributed

Please visit my web site, Enchanted Light Photography.
Bill Chambers
Gulf Breeze, Florida
 

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:46 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85016
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Generally not. What does it say when you click on "See Errors"
 

by Bill Chambers on Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:22 pm
User avatar
Bill Chambers
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3863
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Location: Milton, Florida
I don't know, E.J..  I didn't see the tiny "See Errors" until I posted the screenshot, and by that time it had been cleared from the screen.  I'll wait until Wednesday when I run another back-up to that drive.
When life deals you lemons, make lemonade; when it deals you tomatoes, make Bloody Mary's.
Unattributed

Please visit my web site, Enchanted Light Photography.
Bill Chambers
Gulf Breeze, Florida
 

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Jul 06, 2020 6:09 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85016
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Bill Chambers wrote:
I don't know, E.J..  I didn't see the tiny "See Errors" until I posted the screenshot, and by that time it had been cleared from the screen.  I'll wait until Wednesday when I run another back-up to that drive.


Yeah, I figured you'd have to rerun it.  Then it should tell you which files didn't copy and you can then determine if those are real image files that are damaged on your master or if they are just garbage don't care files with weird names and extensions.
 

by Bill Chambers on Sun Jul 12, 2020 11:42 am
User avatar
Bill Chambers
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3863
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Location: Milton, Florida
OK, I have re-run Synctoy twice now since my last message and have not had any more failures, so that is a very good thing.  I still get ONE error however, but I don't know if it is "Serious" error or a "not a big deal" error.  The screenshot of the error is below:

Image


Can you tell anything from this?

Thank you!
When life deals you lemons, make lemonade; when it deals you tomatoes, make Bloody Mary's.
Unattributed

Please visit my web site, Enchanted Light Photography.
Bill Chambers
Gulf Breeze, Florida
 

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Jul 13, 2020 6:36 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85016
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
That error is normal, that is the file that synctoy uses to track what's on each drive. By definition it won't copy that file from the original because then it won't be able to keep track of differences between the two.
 

by Bill Chambers on Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:05 pm
User avatar
Bill Chambers
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3863
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Location: Milton, Florida
E.J. Peiker wrote:
That error is normal, that is the file that synctoy uses to track what's on each drive.  By definition it won't copy that file from the original because then it won't be able to keep track of differences between the two.

Excellent.  Thanks, E.J.

Desktop is running wonderfully again after the new graphics card and the new hard drives; have a much larger scratch disk now and the 6 GB graphics card increased speed very nicely.  Thanks for all of your help.
When life deals you lemons, make lemonade; when it deals you tomatoes, make Bloody Mary's.
Unattributed

Please visit my web site, Enchanted Light Photography.
Bill Chambers
Gulf Breeze, Florida
 

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:16 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85016
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Excellent :)

Sounds like you learned a lot in the process too :)
 

by Bill Chambers on Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:27 pm
User avatar
Bill Chambers
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3863
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Location: Milton, Florida
Indeed I did. Always nice to learn new things! Thanks for your patience.
When life deals you lemons, make lemonade; when it deals you tomatoes, make Bloody Mary's.
Unattributed

Please visit my web site, Enchanted Light Photography.
Bill Chambers
Gulf Breeze, Florida
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
11 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group