Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 17 posts | 
by Mark Picard on Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:08 am
Mark Picard
Forum Contributor
I've been holding out from upgrading from 7 to 10 because of possible problems associated with 10. Is it now o.k. to upgrade, or should I just forget about it? The "free" upgrade offer expires in a couple of days. Thanks for your suggestions.
Mark Picard
Maine Photography Workshops

by Mark Robinson on Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:28 pm
Mark Robinson
Forum Contributor
Hi Mark,

I am far from an expert on this issue, but here goes. I have upgraded seven systems, all of which were using Win 7. Three were at my home, and four at my business. We have had absolutely no issues at all, either with the computer's operation, or with software. We use Photoshop, Capture NX-D, Capture NX-2, View NX-i, Quickbooks, and Rhino for CAD work. The systems are completely stable, and seem to behave perfectly. There are several small things I was unable to do in Win 7 that I now do with Win 10 installed. An example: I could not (no matter what I tried) update my graphics card driver from Nvidia on a new system since I bought it. It was completely frustrating, and a known issue. After installing Win 10, it now updates perfectly.

I have heard some negatives about upgrading, but I have not experienced any. Just my $.02. Good luck. 
Mark Robinson
http://www.critterlight.com

by Tom Robbins on Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:53 pm
Tom Robbins
Forum Contributor
I did the same as Mark R did and upgraded my five year old desktop from 7 to 10 several days ago. The cobweb-filled machine is due for replacement and I just sort of figured, why the heck not? Everything went fine, but noticed some slowing down and minor glitches with NIK's Color Efex Pro 4 filter in Photoshop CC. Silver Efex also seems to run slower in 10. Viveza 2 works like a champ.