Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 75 posts | 
by pcho on Sat Dec 26, 2009 6:00 am
pcho
Forum Contributor
For all those who are interested I received my 1dmkIV on the 23rd dec and here is a short summary of what I think of the camera. You can see pictures at the FM site. I have a full size file 24mp at 12800 for download there.

Firstly I am very impress with the high iso, there is almost no noise at 3200, some at 6400 and to me 12800 is still usable. I just love the new LCD, it is slightly better than the 5dmkII and heaps better than my 1dmkIII and 1dsmkIII.

The new auto iso is an excellent feature and it works in Manual, TV, AV and P mode.Beaing able to use this feature in manual mode is a real bonus.

Tested the Video mode on Christmas day and it works well. I am no expert with video. I guess most of the Bird photographers are not interested in Video here

Now the all important ai servo mode. I went out to shoot BIF but I did not get many chances to check out this feature. So I went home and my son reluctantly worked with me to perform the running test. I had 4 goes at it. I used a tripod, wimberley head II, 300 F2.8 IS lens set at F2.8 and shot using S Raw. Shooting S Raw allowed me to take about 44 shots without buffer on card getting full.

In the first 2 attempts, I had about 2 blur shorts out of 44. The blur ones seem to occur when my son slowed down to look at cross car traffic. In the next 2 attempt I had 4-5 blur shots out of 45. The sharp shots were really sharp and that impressed me even more. I have posted one of those shots in another post as well in FM.
In summary I am very impress with this new camera. I am not a BIF expert so I leave that to the experts here.

Hope this is of help :)

Cheers

Perry

Update