All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 32 posts | 
by mlgray12 on Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:30 am
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Member #:01023
I am a typical Wildlife Photographer that shots big heavy glass, so I have done very little real research on lightweight systems - but I am getting older and may need that somewhere down the line but by that time everything will have changed big time - been at it a while and started with Kodachrome 64 and manual focus lens!!! My real interest here is helping a friend that is having trouble shooting with her Canon 35mm body and 100-400 lens. I know a little about new Sony mirror-less cameras - so I was wondering what anyone here that has tested this gear would recommend for someone that needs to really shed weight and still be able to shoot birds - really their only interest (I think)
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:23 am
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
The Sony mirrorless cameras do not have an autofocus system that is capable of doing a credible job with birds. Of the mirrorless cameras, the only ones that you might have consistent success with would be the Olympus OM-D E-M1 or the Nikon 1 V series cameras. But even with that, don't expect to get great in flight shots.

by OntPhoto on Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:34 am
OntPhoto
Forum Contributor
I know this one local photographer and he regularly walks around with a Nikon D7100 and Nikon 70-300 lens. Very portable and with the 2x crop option on the D7100 he does not lack for reach at all. From what Inhave seen of his photos, they are excellent and he nails AF in situations where I think my Canon 40D would struggle. He also has the Nikon 500 and the D3x if I recall. But mostly he walks around with the much smaller and lighter setup. I am very impressed with the quality and reach of the D7100.

by Steven Major on Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:46 am
Steven Major
Forum Contributor