« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 8 posts | 
by josiah@dwsanctum.org on Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:45 pm
josiah@dwsanctum.org
Forum Contributor
Right now I am using this setup Canon 7d, 70-200mm 2.8L USM with 2x iiii extender, and most of my photos (even without the extender) seem to be grainy.  I shoot between 188-250 ISO but cannot get a nice clear image.  I am wondering if it is because the Canon 7d has the built in 1.6x focal length.  I am also very new to photography and may be doing something wrong with my settings.  The settings I was shooting the robin (link below) with today was 1/1000 SS, f2.8, and 160 ISO

Image Location:
http://rmfalconry.com/Picture/

I cannot seem to get any of my photos as sharp as ones I have seen on this website. I would like to know if it is my setup or settings/skill that needs the most improvement. For I know I am far from a professional right now. 

Thanks everyone,

Josiah

by Trev on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:41 pm
Trev
Forum Contributor
First - I think you mean mark iii extender.

Secondly - thats a large crop as well as increasing the exposure in the blue sky where noise often lurks. Getting the exposure right in camera would help, you could also apply noise reduction to the sky in PS. Try shooting so you do not have to crop so much.
Trevor Penfold
Website http://www.trevorpenfold.com
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/trevorpenfoldphoto

by signgrap on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:51 pm
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Member #:00424