« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 5 posts | 
by jnadler on Sun Jul 20, 2014 12:55 pm
jnadler
Forum Contributor
I am not a sharpening expert so looking for advice how to pursue the best sharpness workflow for a nice black bear encounter, but unfortunately handholding my 500 F4 at 1/60 second at F7.1, IS1, ISO 400. Realizing the final sharpening is output dependent, assume I want to make an 11 x 14 print and an 850 px x 590 px 72ppi web image. I realize that sharpening does not make up for softness from technique, but would love to make a final pleasing photo of this experience. Most important, I believe the eyes were captured sharply so perhaps the body fur and nose is what needs the most attention.

1.Converting in ACR CS5, how do I best determine an appropriate capture sharpening setting to help offset some softness from the capture method.  Various sliders I have read about but cannot see what would be ideal.

2. In Photoshop CS5, should I consider Smart Sharpen, a high pass process, or my usual USM? 

If anyone wants to play with my Raw image, I could provide only a huge thank you!

This was done with USM of 500, 0.2, 0 and then a second round of 100, 0.2, 0.

http://www.jnphoto.net/New-Image/New-Images/i-6SSWhF9/A

Thank you

Jeff

by Gary Briney on Sun Jul 20, 2014 2:02 pm
Gary Briney
Lifetime Member
Member #:00336
Nice capture Jeff --- in addition to sharpening, you might also consider shadow/highlight contrast adjustment, which can be important with the dark fur. I've sent you a PM. - Gary
G. Briney

by rnclark on Mon Jul 21, 2014 12:11 am
rnclark
Lifetime Member
Member #:01978
Hello Jeff,

There are no universal magic settings for sharpening, not even a set of the optimum settings for one entire image.