« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by DOglesby on Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:32 pm
DOglesby
Lifetime Member
Member #:01155
Been reading up on alpenglow and there is conflicting information as to what it is. What isn't in dispute is that it occurs just before sunrise and just after sunset and is a byproduct of a very low sun whose light has to travel a long way through the atmosphere, scattering the blue light and leaving the classic reddish-pink light. The conflict arises between those that say it is only from indirect light - the sun below the horizon reflecting off particles in the air and hitting the mountain peaks - and those that say it can be from direct light as well.  

I am no scientist so can only go off of what I read and interpret, which obviously introduces the opportunity for being wrong! That said, I don't understand how alpenglow could be from indirect light. Wouldn't indirect light cause the entire mountain range to light up? Why just the peak?  And why does the reddish-pink alpenglow travel down the mountain briefly before it turns golden? How could that happen if the light is being reflected from above? This makes me think alpenglow is from direct light only - light from the sun below the horizon that is able to reach the tallest peaks; and as it rises, the alpenglow then moves down the mountain peaks until the sun gets high enough where it becomes golden.   

Does anyone have an opinion on this?
Cheers,
Doug

by Mike in O on Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:31 pm
Mike in O
Forum Contributor
Alpen glow is the reflection of indirect light off clouds onto the surface of a mountain at sunrise or sunset...this is different than just the pink one experiences at sunset.

by DOglesby on Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:19 pm
DOglesby
Lifetime Member