Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by jwild on Mon Dec 19, 2022 1:42 am
jwild
Forum Contributor
I've been using Canon R 5 for more than two years now. 
Recently, I landed in the discussion that the crop which is done by camera ( 1.6 crop in case of R 5) is better than the crop which is done by Photoshop or any other software, later on a computer. In other words if I take a full resolution image ( 8192x5464) and later crop is to same resolution as 1.6 X crop (5088x3392), the camera crop will have a better IQ, as it is done by hardware and not software.

I would be very keen to know your views !!!

Last edited by jwild on Tue Dec 20, 2022 3:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Dec 19, 2022 7:45 am
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
Before commenting, I’d like to see the discussion, the reasoning, and the assumptions, the file type, etc. behind that statement…

by Dan Kearl on Mon Dec 19, 2022 5:21 pm
Dan Kearl
Forum Contributor
Member #:22021
A sensor has a certain number of pixels,, makes zero difference when or how the image is cropped. The pixels left over don't know the difference.
Image quality with the left over pixels  has way more to do with the Raw processor no matter whether the crop is in camera or in post processing.
A RAW image opened in Photoshop will look different than the same image opened in Capture one for instance.. That is where the difference is, not the cropping.

Last edited by Dan Kearl on Mon Dec 19, 2022 11:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by Mark L on Mon Dec 19, 2022 7:54 pm
Mark L
Forum Contributor