« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 6 posts | 
by Karl Egressy on Thu Feb 23, 2023 8:45 am
User avatar
Karl Egressy
Forum Contributor
Posts: 39986
Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Member #:00988
Is there any software out there I can download to check the shutter count on a Canon R5 using Windows 10 operating system?
Thanks,
Karl.
 

by Tom In Arizona on Sat Feb 25, 2023 12:14 pm
Tom In Arizona
Forum Contributor
Posts: 136
Joined: 26 May 2008
Hi Karl...

When I had a Canon 5d Mark IV a couple of years ago, I went through the same "no luck" search for a Windows version shutter count software. I did however, find a Chinese website called eosmsg.com. It charged around $5 for their software to give the shutter count. I was VERY, VERY leery of it but decided to give it a try after checking out the company on a couple of review sites, etc. It worked flawlessly.

Flash forward to today, and it appears that eosmsg.com does provide Windows support for the R5. I cannot provide you with any other information about the company, but it might be what you're looking for. I would urge you to do some due diligence, but from my experience, there was nothing I could find that was harmful or otherwise untrustworthy.

Tom
 

by Karl Egressy on Sun Feb 26, 2023 9:17 am
User avatar
Karl Egressy
Forum Contributor
Posts: 39986
Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Member #:00988
Thank you Tom I'll give it a try. I just bought a two year old used one and am curious about the shutter count as the previous owner always used the mechanical shutter and he estimated it to be 20'000 out of 500'000.
 

by Karl Egressy on Mon Feb 27, 2023 2:16 pm
User avatar
Karl Egressy
Forum Contributor
Posts: 39986
Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Member #:00988
I tried. Downloaded the program and tested it with a Sony image. It worked for The Sony.
When I connected the R5 it kept saying that no camera is connected.
I have an other program downloaded from the Canon site.
Same results, doesn't recognize the camera, keeps asking to connect when it is already connected.
 

by Tom In Arizona on Mon Feb 27, 2023 5:53 pm
Tom In Arizona
Forum Contributor
Posts: 136
Joined: 26 May 2008
Karl...Not sure what's going on with your R5. Their FAQ says to make sure you power cycle the camera to make sure you get the reading. If you've done that and it still doesn't give you a count, then the only other thing I can think of is that since you tested your Sony and it worked, the program may require you to pay an additional fee to use it with another camera model. But, that's supposition on my part.

Hope you can get it sorted out.
 

by Karl Egressy on Tue Feb 28, 2023 3:10 am
User avatar
Karl Egressy
Forum Contributor
Posts: 39986
Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Member #:00988
Thanks Tom. My son tried to download an other program that works only on Apple computers but he was given the warning that it had a malware so he stopped. I have given up for now. I bought the camera used, I was just curious about the shutter count. I'm a CPS member, I'll take it to Service one day when the roads are not as bad as now.
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
6 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group