fbpixel

Moderators: E.J. Peiker, Greg Downing

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 28 posts | 
by neverspook on Tue Sep 20, 2022 2:01 am
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
I am looking for recommendations for a compact power strip that is dual voltage for travel.
Surge protection would be an added bonus.
3 or more outlets would be great.
If it has USB ports, these would need to be able to charge an iPhone 13 Pro. But I can always just plug that into one of the regular outlets.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Roberta Olenick
 

by ivan rothman on Tue Sep 20, 2022 2:40 pm
ivan rothman
Forum Contributor
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Location: New York
Anker makes several strips that would fit your requirements.

Anker Power Strip Surge Protector, 5 ft cord, 6 outlets and 3 USB-A ports. 110-240V 5.9x2x2 inches $26 on Amazon

Anker Travel Power Strip. 5 ft cord. 3 outlets 3 USB-A ports 110-240V 2.25 x 2.25 inches $23 on Amazon
 

by neverspook on Tue Sep 20, 2022 5:05 pm
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
ivan rothman wrote:
Anker makes several strips that would fit your requirements.

Anker Power Strip Surge Protector, 5 ft cord, 6 outlets and 3 USB-A ports.   110-240V     5.9x2x2 inches     $26 on Amazon

Anker Travel Power Strip.   5 ft cord.   3 outlets      3 USB-A ports    110-240V     2.25 x 2.25 inches      $23 on Amazon




Thanks for this. I did see these on Amazon but was confused because in one place on the write up it says 125 V only while elsewhere it says up to 240 V. So I don't know what to think. Do you have either of these and if so, did they work on 240V?
 

by photoman4343 on Tue Sep 20, 2022 5:09 pm
photoman4343
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1923
Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
I do not have a specific one to recommend. Many options are here:

https://www.220converters.com/store/categories/8/Surge-Protectors-220-Volt
Joe Smith
 

by ivan rothman on Tue Sep 20, 2022 7:26 pm
ivan rothman
Forum Contributor
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Location: New York
I own both of them. And while I haven't yet used them out of the country at 220V, I did wonder about the lack of documentation so I called Anker and they confirmed that they were compatible with 220V. Also, if you look carefully at the Amazon site, there is some reference to them being 110-220V.
 

by ivan rothman on Tue Sep 20, 2022 7:31 pm
ivan rothman
Forum Contributor
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Location: New York
I went back and looked at the device on Amazon and I found this as part of the description: "Supports Worldwide Voltages. Compatible with all standard wall outlet voltages worldwide (100V - 240V)"
 

by neverspook on Tue Sep 20, 2022 7:35 pm
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
ivan rothman wrote:
I own both of them.  And while I haven't yet used them out of the country at 220V, I did wonder about the lack of documentation so I called Anker and they confirmed that they were compatible with 220V.  Also, if you look carefully at the Amazon site, there is some reference to them being 110-220V.



Thanks
 

by Wildflower-nut on Fri Sep 23, 2022 11:29 am
Wildflower-nut
Forum Contributor
Posts: 804
Joined: 04 Mar 2008
I really don't know but I would be cautious of a 110v power strip with surge protector. An incident was told to me 10 years ago of plugging a power strip into an outlet and blowing the circuit. The guess at the time was the surge protector saw the 220v as a surge and shorted it out hence blowing the fuse. I'd try and confirm it will work with 220V.
 

by E.J. Peiker on Fri Sep 23, 2022 11:57 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86275
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
By law, the voltage and current capacity of the strip has to printed on it - it's usually on the underside. Simply look for 110-220V 50-60Hz - both are very important.
 

by neverspook on Fri Sep 23, 2022 12:44 pm
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
E.J. Peiker wrote:
By law, the voltage and current capacity of the strip has to printed on it - it's usually on the underside.  Simply look for 110-220V 50-60Hz - both are very important.



Thanks E. J. I do know that. It’s just hard to determine online with some of these that say in one place on Amazon that they do a voltage in another place on the same listing that they’re not to know whether they are or not. I have contacted 
Anker directly and I’m waiting to hear back with their recommendations.
 

by E.J. Peiker on Fri Sep 23, 2022 6:42 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86275
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
If you go to Anker.com, find the product you are looking at and then go down to specs, look for Input - that's where you will find the official specifications.  I randomly selected three different ones and all of them were 125V/60Hz only except the one that is the model 524.
 

by neverspook on Fri Sep 23, 2022 10:09 pm
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
E.J. Peiker wrote:
If you go to Anker.com, find the product you are looking at and then go down to specs, look for Input - that's where you will find the official specifications.  I randomly selected three different ones and all of them were 125V/60Hz only except the one that is the model 524.



Thanks, EJ
 

by neverspook on Fri Sep 23, 2022 11:18 pm
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
neverspook wrote:
E.J. Peiker wrote:
If you go to Anker.com, find the product you are looking at and then go down to specs, look for Input - that's where you will find the official specifications.  I randomly selected three different ones and all of them were 125V/60Hz only except the one that is the model 524.



Thanks, EJ


524 does not ship to Canada either from Anker directly or from Amazon.com. Amazon.ca does not list it..

Any other suggestions?
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Sep 24, 2022 12:46 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86275
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Here you go from amazon.ca:
https://www.amazon.ca/Universal-100-250V-Charging-Smartphone-Appliances/dp/B07ZCF6VFM/ref=sr_1_53
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Sep 24, 2022 12:51 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86275
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Back in 2005 I couldn't get a 220V 50Hz power strip anywhere in the US so when I got to Argentina I went to the nearest hardware store and bought one.  It uses the South America/Australia diagonal plugs but it's 220/50 so I just take that with me whenever I travel to a 220/50 country and then just use plug adapters to fit whatever the local plug standard is.
 

by neverspook on Sat Sep 24, 2022 1:01 pm
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
E.J. Peiker wrote:
Back in 2005 I couldn't get a 220V 50Hz power strip anywhere in the US so when I got to Argentina I went to the nearest hardware store and bought one.  It uses the South America/Australia diagonal plugs but it's 220/50 so I just take that with me whenever I travel to a 220/50 country and then just use plug adapters to fit whatever the local plug standard is.



Thanks, EJ. Useful suggestions.

I guess Punta Arenas will have them.

I did see the one you listed from Amazon.ca but given the width of the chargers for the Canon R5, at best two outlets will be available and that thing eats batteries so I carry at least two chargers for it. Not sure the USB ports would work for my iPhone 13 Pro so would need an outlet for that, plus laptop and R3 charger. I have emailed Anker to see if there is any way to get the little cube one that is dual voltage because then all the outlets would be available...
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Sep 24, 2022 3:11 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86275
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Sure the USB ports would work for an iPhone 13 pro - you just need a USB to lightning cable - you can get those anywhere and probably have one somewhere as they used to come with earlier iPhones.
 

by neverspook on Sat Sep 24, 2022 4:20 pm
neverspook
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1202
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
E.J. Peiker wrote:
Sure the USB ports would work for an iPhone 13 pro - you just need a USB to lightning cable - you can get those anywhere and probably have one somewhere as they used to come with earlier iPhones.


I never had an iPhone before but I do have such a cord to connect to my computer. But I thought the iPhone 13 Pro needed a much more powerful USB port than older iPhones and then this particular power strip. Is that not correct?
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Sep 24, 2022 5:39 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86275
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
neverspook wrote:
E.J. Peiker wrote:
Sure the USB ports would work for an iPhone 13 pro - you just need a USB to lightning cable - you can get those anywhere and probably have one somewhere as they used to come with earlier iPhones.


I never had an iPhone before but I do have such a cord to connect to my computer. But I thought the iPhone 13 Pro needed a much more powerful USB port than older iPhones and then this particular power strip. Is that not correct?

No, it will charge easily - that's a 2.1A USB port which is enough to charge an iPad Pro fully in about 2.5 hours so an iPhone wouldn't even break a sweat :)  I have an iPhone 13 Pro Max which is a bigger battery than yours and it charges on a 1.5A port in under 2 hours
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Sep 24, 2022 5:43 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86275
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Just looked it up, an iPhone 13Pro has a 3.1Ah battery so with a 2.1A charger it would take almost exactly 1.5 hours if the phone battery was completely depleted. That's in a 100% efficient scenario which it isn't but it's probably at least 85% efficient so from 0 to 100% should take about 1 hour and 45 minutes.
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
28 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group