All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 6 posts | 
by natureshooter606 on Sat Sep 12, 2020 12:08 pm
natureshooter606
Forum Contributor
Hello all,

I've been reading/browsing Naturescapes on and off for years (like, 15 years.... wow, time flies). But, this is my first post. I guess I'm the definition of a "lurker". Shame on me :-).

I'm not a professional photographer by any means, more of a serious hobbyist. I made a big investment in camera gear about 10 years ago and haven't bought a single piece of camera gear since. Why? It's hard for me to justify spending more money on camera gear when the setup that I have is perfectly good and allows me to captures beautiful images.

I have too much gear to list, but here's my primary setup (don't laugh too hard because like I said, I haven't bought anything in a LONG time). I'm a canon shooter:
[ul]
[li]1dm2n[/li]
[li]7d[/li]
[li]600 f/4[/li]
[li]100-400 IS[/li]
[li]70-200 f/4 IS[/li]
[li]17-40L[/li]
[li]Sigma 150mm f/2.8 macro[/li]
[/ul]

Well... after all this time, I'm finally at the point where I'm considering some new gear. Why?? Well, I've never loved the image quality out of my 7d (it's kind of noisy, in my opinion) and the images always seem slightly, slightly soft compared to my 1dm2n. But, it's been acceptable for me. For "important" stuff I usually use my 1dm2n, and then use the 7d when I want something lighter/easier to carry/handle or if I really need the extra resolution. But over the past few years I've been finding that my gear is just getting SO far out of date that it's time for an upgrade... the resolution and ISO performance of the 1dm2n is becoming laughable by today's standards and the 7d has never been perfect for me either. But what's really pushed me over the edge is the new AF eye tracking (human and animal) of the R6 and R5. It blows my mind based on what I've seen online and it's getting me to think... "maybe now is the time to upgrade".