Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 9 posts | 
by GregCromie on Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:15 pm
GregCromie
Forum Contributor
HI all. I am new to nature photography and looking at exploring this genre more. I currently shoot with a Fujifilm X-T3 and was hoping to get some opinions on using this system, and with what lenses for this kind of work. Thanks in advance for your comments. Cheers. Greg

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Nov 23, 2019 11:59 am
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
The X-T3 is probably the best APS-C sensor camera on the market today and the lenses, especially the higher end ones are exceptional. The AF is very good even for moving subjects. I would have no hesitation in using this system for pretty much any kind of nature photography.

by david fletcher on Sat Nov 23, 2019 2:17 pm
david fletcher
Member #:00525
Depending on what type of nature images you seek: (macro/long tele work), the 100-400 XF F4.5-5.6 LM OIS WR lens looks like a good choice for long tele images. If you want, there is a quite special 200 F2 too.LOL...

Minor limitations have been noted as slightly higher noise by reviewers and no in body stabilisation, neither which are deal breakers.

BTW, welcome to NSN. Just go and enjoy what you have. There will always be a better and latest as each month goes by, but nothing is actually better than spending time in the field.
Make your life spectacular!

NSN00525

by Jeff Pearl on Sun Nov 24, 2019 9:03 am
Jeff Pearl
Forum Contributor
Member #:02142
 I'm currently using the X-T30 with 18-55 lens, and it does a decent job on landscape and buildings. I plan to get the X-T3 and a Fuji 10-24 lens. I usually google " Fuji 10-24 lens sample images" or whatever lens I'm interested in, and can usually find a Flikr group for that particular lens, and then scan through the photos others have taken. You can do same with camera and see results others are getting.