All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 20 posts | 
by mlgray12 on Sun Feb 24, 2019 11:20 am
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Member #:01023
I have a friend who wants to be able to get good macro photos in field with very lightweight setup - no tripod - usability and small more important than price - Looking at new Sony A6400 and 30mm macro lens- I was suggesting something more along line of Sony full frame AR 7 with bigger macro lens - I am using full frame Nikon D850 with 60 or 105mm lens and these are definitely to much camera for his needs and I have zero experience in the new smaller mirror-less systems - even though I looking at renting a Z7 just to test it out - know it is where we are all headed at some point - but being more a wildlife and bird photographer - not sure it is quite there yet
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Feb 24, 2019 11:38 am
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
The a6400 will be great for that but a 30mm Macro lens is really intended more for copy stand work.  It simply isn't long enough for nature use - you have to get too close to your subject to be useful for most subjects as you cast shadow on things or in the case of critters can even be dangerous.  I would steer him to something like a 70mm Macro at minimum and preferably even a bit longer.

The other problem with a wide macro lens is that it is super hard to control the background due to it's super wide angle of view.

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Feb 24, 2019 11:41 am
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Here is a great option:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... macro.html

An even better option but much more expensive (can also be used on FE cameras):

And my current favorite for this sort of work for Sony E-mount (manual focusus and also good on FE cameras):
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... f_2_5.html

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Feb 24, 2019 11:46 am
E.J. Peiker