Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 3 posts | 
by Ed Okie on Sat Dec 15, 2018 4:24 pm
Ed Okie
Forum Contributor
   E.J. Peiker published an in-depth review a few months previous that caught my eye, a new tripod (with an odd name) iQuick3pod 40.4, produced by a Hungarian manufacture.
http://www.ejphoto.com/Quack%20PDF/iQuick3pod.pdf
   "When one first unpacks this tripod one is immediately impressed by the high quality feel of the tripod. It is hefty! The top legs are 1.5 inches in diameter and even on the taller 4 leg section model, the bottom legs are still 1.125 inches in diameter"
   He went on to say, "easily of the same quality as the major players in the super sturdy carbon fiber tripod market."
   I'll cut to the chase: after extensive use in varied situations the new iQuick3pod is by far the most solid tripod I've used in over 40 years of experience, camera's ranging from Linhof 4x5's to todays' Sony a7rIII. Lenses from 16mm to 500mm.
   E.J's timely comments perked my curiosity. I had just returned from air travel, two weeks of landscape shooting during Vermont's fall foliage season, each day mumbling to myself about the tripod carried - the one I've had for several years, a RRS TVC-2X that is too short, only 49". The situation made worse this year as I left the center quick-column at home (which adds up to 11" vertical travel), motivated by a suggestion read on RRS's website: When traveling, consider removing the quick-column and leaving it at home, keeping your RRS support package as light and compact as possible.
   What was I thinking? Big mistake. The tripod is too short! Mounted on top was the RRS BH-40, a medium-size head that's "okay," but not exceptional. Sticky when panning. Pan release knob is awkwardly placed, difficult to use when wearing gloves.