Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 8 posts | 
by Cynthia Crawford on Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:09 pm
Cynthia Crawford
Member #:00733
a friend of mine is selling her Nikon lenses (and a camera), at, I think, pretty good prices. I'm new to Nikon, so I don't have sery good perspective yet on what is a good deal. I would like to expand my work a bit, from mostly birds to some macro, maybe a bit of landscape.
Here 's what she is selling:

3. Nikon D800E camera body, 36.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor, 51-point AF system
(15 cross-type), ISO 100-6400 expandable to 25,600, 3.2” LCD with 921,000 dots,
1080p HD video recording, 4 frames per second continuous shooting
100% viewfinder, well cared for and in excellent condition, $1000
4. Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor zoom lens, excellent condition,
$2000 new, very slightly used, a fantastic lens, $1500
5. Nikon AF FX NIKKOR 50mm F/1.4D DSLR lens with auto focus, new condition,
$250
6. Nikon AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED Lens, excellent condition,
$1200, information on this amazing lens:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/186250-
USA/Nikon_1960_AF_S_Zoom_Nikkor_17_35mm.html
7. Nikon AF FX NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF Zoom Lens with Auto Focus, excellent
condition, $500

How important is VR for these lenses (assuming some other models have VR and most of these don't)?
I'm mostly interested in the 70-200-it's an older model, but maybe fine for my purposes....though maybe a bit heavy. I generally don't use a tripod, but I might , for that lens...

Any thoughts would be appreciated- are these good prices, are they good lenses?  She is a pro and totally meticulous taking care of her equipment. I'm going to look at the lenses Friday.
Cynthia (Cindy) Crawford-Moderator, Photo & Digital Art
web site: http://www.creaturekinships.net
"If I Keep a Green Bough in My Heart, the Singing Bird Will Come"  Chinese Proverb