Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 29 posts | 
by Cynthia Crawford on Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:57 am
Cynthia Crawford
Member #:00733
I am enjoying hand-holding this light lens with my D500, but since I have a tripod with Gimbal head, I thought there might be occasions for mounting the camera and lens- especially if I get a TC1.4 as well, and use the battery pack.
 B&H sells a Kirk

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... omerReview

Some reviews seem to think it does not distribute the weight properly....though one person suggests mounting it backwards! On the plus side-it's a Kirk and has a built-in plate.

The Nikon collar for this lens (RT-1) needs an additional plate, I believe. No idea if it balances better.

There seems to be another Kirk- but maybe it doesn't fit this newer lens?

http://tinyurl.com/z4clsd7

It was obviously made for an older lens  without VR perhaps.....

Anyone have experience with any of these or a good third party option?

Thanks!
Cynthia (Cindy) Crawford-Moderator, Photo & Digital Art
web site: http://www.creaturekinships.net
"If I Keep a Green Bough in My Heart, the Singing Bird Will Come"  Chinese Proverb

by aolander on Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:56 am
aolander
Forum Contributor
Your second link shows the collar for the 300mm f/4 AF-S lens, the lens made prior to the PF. It would not fit the PF, but on the AF-S, it's a really nice collar. Perhaps get the Nikon collar and put a long A-S plate on it that extends toward the camera body.
Alan Olander
Minnesota

by Mark Picard on Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:37 am
Mark Picard
Forum Contributor
 Cynthia - I use a Really Right Stuff Bracket #MPR-CLII   http://www.reallyrightstuff.com/MPR-CL- ... gral-clamp  with any non-collared lens with my Gimbal head. It turns the camera and lens 90 degrees away from pointing into the head. I also use a L bracket on the camera in case I want to shoot vertical (using the same plate).