« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by WJaekel on Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:52 pm
WJaekel
Forum Contributor
In January, I will join a trip to Costa Rica for photographing birds, frogs and other small wildlife in the rain forest. It's my first trip there. From the packing list I got  I could see, that an external hot shoe flash and flash brackets for tele lenses are highly recommended. It's understandable that a flash is almost mandatory for shooting small birds in the dark foliage. I already have an older Canon off shoe cord but I have to check if it works with my 600 EX and 580 EX flashes. I also found an old Flash extender  in my cupboard that I can use on those flashes. I don't know if it's a Better Beamer though it looks like that.

But I have no experiences of flash brackets for the tele lenses. For the 600mm II or 200-400mm I exclusively have used a Wimberley gimbal Head while the 300mm/f.2.8 or 100-400 sometimes have been attached via a RRS BH 55 on the tripod, too. So the question is, if anybody can recommend a suitable flash bracket which doesn't cost a fortune and nevertheless is stable and easy to handle. I've seen that there's a flash bracket offered by Wimberley which must be attached on the gimbal. It's pretty expensive and it seems that's it cannot be used for the tele lenses if they are attached on a ballhead. I'm sure that RRS also has offerings but there are no distributors in Europe that can deliver in time before I leave. All suggestions and recommendations are very much appreciated.

Thank you in advance

Wolfgang

by SantaFeJoe on Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:56 pm
SantaFeJoe
Forum Contributor