All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 7 posts | 
by JAL on Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:26 pm
JAL
Forum Contributor
Hi All,

I am new to printing. I got some test prints back from a lab. All of them have a slight blue cast to them.  My monitor is calibrated.  The icc profile from the lab is downloaded and I used it to look at a soft proofed image in Lightroom 4.  Should the soft proof look just like the actual print when I hold the print next to the monitor?  My prints look slightly bluer than the soft proofed image.  I am using a Mac if that matters.  Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong?   Thanks.

JAL

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:15 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
The luminance might be different but they shouldn't look bluer at least not significantly so unless you are looking at the prints in an unusually blue light source. I'm guessing their profile isn't accurate to what they are printing and perhaps made that profile a long time ago and have changed some things or have a bad profile to begin with. Or your monitor profile could be bad too.

by Royce Howland on Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:27 pm
Royce Howland
Forum Contributor
Member #:00460
Soft-proofing is a simulation of the print shown on your screen, but how close it is to the way the print looks depends on several factors. Primarily it depends on how accurate the lab's printer profile is, how close their printer's colour gamut is to your monitor's gamut, and how good your ambient light is.

E.J. touched on several common issues. Your monitor profile could be a bit off (shifted towards yellow so you post-processed the file in a way that introduced more blue), or their printer profile could be a bit off (shifted towards blue), or both. Though in both cases you should see a colour shift on-screen during soft-proofing.