Moderator: Carolyn E. Wright

All times are UTC - 5 hours

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by jtanner on Thu Jun 08, 2017 6:02 pm
jtanner
Forum Contributor
I'm pretty new to trying to earn money with my photography. I've been a hobbyist for years, off and on, mostly focusing on birds and sports. Some significant life changes called me in this direction and I followed my passion to where I am now, which is spending lots of time in nature working on landscape and nightscape shots, lots of time working on editing and learning new techniques, and marketing-mostly through social media.
I've read many articles regarding this subject, including the pull vs push article here, which made perfect sense to me. So far I've found social media (mostly Instagram) rather ineffective. I am starting to enter contests. I placed in the top 20 in the first one I entered which earned a gallery spot for 3 months. A start.
Does anyone have any suggestions on paths or channels for increasing exposure?
I know it's a slow process, but time isn't necessarily on my side so I need to be efficient with my efforts.

Thanks for your thoughts on this!

by Mark Picard on Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:14 am
Mark Picard
Forum Contributor
Member #:01043
The current edition (2017) of the book "The Photographer's Marketplace" is a good source of info when you're starting out
Mark Picard
Maine Photography Workshops

by jtanner on Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:48 pm
jtanner
Forum Contributor
Mark Picard wrote:
The current edition (2017) of the book "The Photographer's Marketplace" is a good source of info when you're starting out

Thanks for the tip, Mark. The book looks like it contains a wealth of info. Ordered.

by bradmangas on Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:34 pm
bradmangas
Forum Contributor