HORNED PUFFINS - BERING SEA

Posted by James McIntyre on Tue Oct 28, 2003 12:23 am

All times are UTC-05:00

Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 13 posts | 
Title: HORNED PUFFINS - BERING SEA
Species: Horned Puffin (Fratercula corniculata)
Photographer: James McIntyre
Date: July, 2000
Equipment: Canon EOS-1VHS; EF 600 mm f/4L IS USM; Gitzo 1548 + Wimberley Head; 550EX + Better Beamer
Evaluative Metering: -1/3
Flash: ~0
Film: Fuji Provia 100F @ ISO 200
Scanner: Nikon Super Coolscan 4000 ED with LaserSoft SilverFast Ai Software v6.0.1r28 (IT8 calibrated)

This picture admittedly has several things wrong with it.

Firstly, as a complete novice to fill flash in 2000, I shot it about 0, resulting in an overly dark background. Fortunately, I was able to lighten it partially in Photoshop.

Secondly, the birds' breasts may be too light for some tastes, although that's primarily due to my PS tinkering.

Thirdly, the birds had dreaded RED EYE. I was able to remove this by desaturating with a very narrow notch filter, while still retaining their beautiful orange eyes. See my post of 10/27/03 in Photography Topics and the replies for more details.

It's also perhaps a little soft - especially compared to GD's spectacular CLIFF EDGE picture (9/07/03).

Please note the immaculate training of my puffins.

Also note their ridged bill structure, which allows them to stack multiple small fish when feeding.

All in all, I rather like the somewhat dramatic effect of this flawed picture, with the birds looking out over the menacing Bering Sea far below. I hope some of you may too.

All comments welcome.

Posted by:
James McIntyre
Lifetime Member
Member #:00068

by Heather Forcier on Tue Oct 28, 2003 12:55 am
Heather Forcier
Site Co-Founder
Member #:00003