VFNP doe on hill

Posted by robert hasty on Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:31 pm

All times are UTC-05:00

Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 5 posts | 

One of the things im just starting to practice on is BG's. This was really a trial run at it. Wish it were a buck, but hey, does are good enough for practice :wink: The slight hill its standing on im finding slightly distracting myself, but figured id post as is. Guess i need a little fg work also :lol:

The sky in the bg is close to what i remember it, it really helped to let the deer stand out a bit. Please feel free to hammer away here, i am still learning if its not to obvious already :D

Thanks a bunch,
robert.........

10d
tripod
300mm
F16 at 1/10th of a second
u.v and 81b warming filter
Robert Hasty
NSN0075

[size=75]
[i] There is a path which no fowl knoweth, and which the vulture's eye hath not seen:[/i][/size]

Posted by:
robert hasty
Forum Contributor

by E.J. Peiker on Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:42 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
A beautiful animal with a great foreground and background. I think the side lighting is too strong here throwing half of the face into blackness as well as projecting a large shadow onto the body - getting this guy in profile, from a lighting perspective, would have improved this one.

by chris earle on Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:19 pm
chris earle
Forum Contributor
Robert,

I agree with E.J. I like the background and foreground, but the shadows are a bit distracting. It looks like you must have had quite a good time at VFNP.
Chris Earle
[url=http://www.naturescapes.net/membership.htm]NSN 0045[/url]

by Brian Hale on Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:54 pm
Brian Hale
Forum Contributor
The slight slope of the hill is good; a straight line of grass across the frame is uneventful at best. The sky is nice but my mind is saying it should be a tad more blue/cyan, but if thats how is was, thats good. A nice pose as well but the shadow on the face and body detract some from the overal image.