Young Lion In Profile

Posted by Ed Cordes on Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:54 pm

All times are UTC-05:00

Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 9 posts | 
I am still learning B&W conversions.  Here is another 2010 image from Tanzania converted from color.  Shot with 1D4 and 100-400 version 1. It was reprocessed from the original RAW file using modern techniques the converted mostly using channels, and curves.  Turning down the green channel really allowed me to get separation for the background. I often give the color version as a gift to special fellow members of Lions Club International when they visit our area.  Thanks for clicking to see uncompressed version.
Remember, a little mild insanity keeps us healthy

Posted by:
Ed Cordes
Forum Contributor
Member #:00700

by Steve Kaluski on Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:57 am
Steve Kaluski
Forum Contributor
Member #:02094
Hi Ed, nice portrait and good call in looking at an alternative medium to portray the image in.

B/W is totally different to colour because its all bout 'Tonal range' of one colour, Black to White, with shade in between and often distracting elements can be lost within the conversion to B/W. For me, you have to shoot in B/W (easy to do these days) as only then can you truly see if it works or not on the LED screen. You may find 'double processing' the image via Smart Objects helps, although agree on using the Green Channel which offers greater contrast, but as presented the sharpening I feel is clashing with the 'B/W contrast' of the image and so it takes on a slight coarseness, therefore backing off on one of those elements may help? Having a darker backdrop is great and so the subject for me needs less of the darker elements creating more standout and highlighting the detail captured.

The image when clicked on is going to the full 1280px, should it Ed?

TFS
Steve

by david fletcher on Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:48 pm
david fletcher
Member #:00525