fbpixel

Moderators: E.J. Peiker, Greg Downing

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 6 posts | 
by mlgray12 on Sat Jul 17, 2021 6:45 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
My new Puget Computer arrived - now work begins - thanks to all that helped me spec this machine
But it has 2 high speed SSD - at 1 TB each - one as main boot drive and other as scratch  disk
I have never had a scratch disk before - all data files (Raw and TIFF) are on large 10 TB 3.5" SATA drives
Question is which drive should I put the Lightroom Catalog - the boot drive or the scratch disk or does it not mater? 
Thanks in advance
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by Langsey on Sat Jul 17, 2021 7:09 pm
User avatar
Langsey
Forum Contributor
Posts: 303
Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Location: Indiana
I have my Lightroom on the boot drive.
John L
John Langsenkamp
NSN 0077
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Jul 17, 2021 7:26 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85819
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Don't put it on the scratch disk.  I would put catalogue file on your fastest drive which would be the main 1TB SSD.  The actual pictures should of course be on a data drive, your 10TB.
 

by bradmangas on Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:16 pm
User avatar
bradmangas
Forum Contributor
Posts: 263
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Since you don't need a 1TB scratch disk for lightroom/photoshop, it would be wise to get something like a fast 250gb SSD and dedicate it as your scratch disk. Then you can use the second 1TB SSD to clone your main drive. It would be a wiser use of resources.
 

by mlgray12 on Mon Jul 19, 2021 10:56 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
E.J. Peiker wrote:
Don't put it on the scratch disk.  I would put catalogue file on your fastest drive which would be the main 1TB SSD.  The actual pictures should of course be on a data drive, your 10TB.


Thanks for now I have my LR catalog on the 1TB main data drive - however the scratch disk is also a 1TB drive that is identical to the main drive - if I remember right they are 7000 GB/sec transfer rates
Both drives are Samsung 980 Pro 1TB Gen4 M.2 SSD
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by Mark L on Tue Jul 20, 2021 8:45 am
Mark L
Forum Contributor
Posts: 92
Joined: 01 Feb 2020
I believe that most motherboards only support a single Gen 4 connection with the second M2 disk being Gen 3 (e.g. the Gigabyte B550 Vision that Puget uses in the full size AMD machines).  Check your motherboard, but I would guess that your boot drive has a faster transfer spec compared to your "scratch" disk (the second M2 slot).
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
6 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group