fbpixel

Moderators: E.J. Peiker, Greg Downing

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 9 posts | 
by Scott Fairbairn on Tue Jul 06, 2021 2:14 pm
User avatar
Scott Fairbairn
Forum Contributor
Posts: 5042
Joined: 13 Jan 2005
I downloaded the trial of this new noise reduction program, and on the few files I've tried it on, it's going to give Topaz a run.
https://www.on1.com
 

by ivan rothman on Thu Jul 08, 2021 7:24 am
ivan rothman
Forum Contributor
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Location: New York
I downloaded a trial version of ON 1 NoNoise on my Mac.  It opens as a standalone program and it opens in Photoshop.  But in Lightroom Classic, when I click "Edit In" it appears in the list but when clicked it does not open.  Anyone have any suggestions as to why?
 

by ivan rothman on Thu Jul 08, 2021 2:53 pm
ivan rothman
Forum Contributor
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Location: New York
I just heard back from ON1 technical. There is a glitch in using ON 1 NoNoise in LR from the "Edit In" command. They are working on a fix. For now they recommend in LightRoom using File Menu > Plug-In Extras > ON 1 NoNoise
A picture taken at Disney World in dark tunnel, using Nikon D500 cropped sensor camera, ISO 51,200. Image is cropped by over 400%. I think ON 1 NoNoise did an incredible job. I'm not sure how to post images on this forum but I'll try. Not sure if they will appear.

/Volumes/DATA 4TB/Users/ivanrothman/Desktop/_D506753.jpg
/Volumes/DATA 4TB/Users/ivanrothman/Desktop/_D506753-2.jpg
 

by Scott Fairbairn on Fri Jul 09, 2021 8:19 am
User avatar
Scott Fairbairn
Forum Contributor
Posts: 5042
Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Here's my summary of my brief experience with NoNoise compared to Topaz using Capture One as my primary DAM and optimization software.
First off, there is a bit of a hiccup using the software and C1. When you export the file from Capture One, you cannot export it as a raw file to NoNoise, unless you use the "Open with" command. The hiccup is that the file is not automatically imported back into your C1 library, and you must re-import the denoised file, thus creating an extra step that does impact your workflow.
If you want to keep the file in the catalogue, you must use the "Edit with" command, but that forces you into exporting a tif, PSD, or jpg, and No Noise is optimized for raw files.
I tried a comparison using Topaz Denoise(exported as 16bit tiff), NoNoise(16-bit tiff) and NoNoise on the original using the raw file.
The two tiffs are very close; on the image I used(A9 at 12,800 ISO), I would say the No Noise has a slight advantage. But with the Raw file, No Noise was significantly better. I should also mention I used the default settings in C1 for the tiff exports(i.e., I didn't adjust the image) and default settings in Topaz Denoise and No Noise.
Anyway, just my observations.
 

by DChan on Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:38 am
DChan
Forum Contributor
Posts: 2180
Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Used a RAW file from Olympus at ISO 25600 and processed it with DxO PhotoLap 4, Topaz Denoise AI ver 2.2.12 and this ON1. Only ON1 was able to remove all the noise that I could see.
 

by Scott Fairbairn on Tue Jul 13, 2021 7:02 pm
User avatar
Scott Fairbairn
Forum Contributor
Posts: 5042
Joined: 13 Jan 2005
The other thing that is unique with On1 is that you can export as a raw file.
 

by Tom In Arizona on Wed Jul 14, 2021 2:53 pm
Tom In Arizona
Forum Contributor
Posts: 132
Joined: 26 May 2008
Just discovered a 50% off code for On1 No Noise, and thought some might want to use it. Use this code: NN50PLUS

Makes buying this software a little easier on the wallet.

Tom
 

by E.J. Peiker on Wed Jul 14, 2021 5:23 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 86186
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Topaz just released an update to DeNoise primarily focused on improving how it works with RAW files as well as some performance and UI improvements - perhaps a response to this new software...
 

by Scott Fairbairn on Thu Jul 15, 2021 9:11 am
User avatar
Scott Fairbairn
Forum Contributor
Posts: 5042
Joined: 13 Jan 2005
I tried out the new Topaz compared to No Noise, and ISO12800 A9 image and No Noise still looks better. I'll have to try it with other examples though.
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
9 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group