fbpixel

Moderators: E.J. Peiker, Greg Downing

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 23 posts | 
by mlgray12 on Sat Jun 05, 2021 11:06 am
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
I have to replace my desktop suspect might even have a motherboard issue - but dealing with that

But it is getting very old and just to slow with LR especially with bid raw files etc..

First build based on AMD processor

Power Supply   EVGA® SuperNOVA G3 750 Watt
Motherboard   Asus® ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Processor   AMD RYZEN™ 9 5900X 12-Core - 3.7GHz to 4.8GHz
Memory   G.Skill TridentZ RGB 128GB (4x32GB) - 2666MHZ
Video Card   NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 3070 Founders Edition - 8GB
Sound Card   On-Board
Networking   On-Board
Operating System Drive   Samsung® 980 Pro 1TB - M.2 SSD - PCI Express
Data Drive - M.2 SOCKET   Samsung® 980 Pro 1TB - M.2 SSD - PCI Express
Data Drive - SATA 3.5" Bay   Western Digital® Red™ Pro 14TB - SATA HDD
Data Drive - SATA 3.5" Bay   Western Digital® Red™ Pro 14TB - SATA HDD
64-Bit Operating System   Microsoft Windows 10 Pro

2nd build based on Intel which is about $1500 higher plus processor will delay build

Power Supply EVGA® SuperNOVA G3 750 Watt
Motherboard Asus® PRIME X299 Deluxe II
 Processor Intel® Core™ i9-10920X 12-Core - 3.5GHz to 4.8GHz
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 128GB (8x16GB) - 3200MHZ
Video Card NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 3070 Founders Edition - 8GB
Sound Card On-Board
Networking On-Board
Operating System Drive Samsung® 980 Pro 1TB - M.2 SSD - PCI Express
Data Drive M.2 SOCKET Samsung® 980 Pro 1TB - M.2 SSD - PCI Express
Data Drive SATA 3.5" Bay Western Digital® Red™ Pro 14TB – SATA HDD
Data Drive SATA 3.5" Bay Western Digital® Red™ Pro 14TB - SATA HDD
64-Bit Operating System Microsoft Windows 10 Pro

I am leaning towards the AMD processor but any and all advise is appreciated - tried using all advise from last post on new computer build
running LR and PS with no gaming - only little work on video
Pretty pricey systems from Falcon NW - can move most stuff higher or lower

Thanks
Mike
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by Langsey on Sat Jun 05, 2021 12:41 pm
User avatar
Langsey
Forum Contributor
Posts: 303
Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Location: Indiana
Mike,
Check out Puget. I have their Serenity model. I have had it for approx. 3-5 years and still going strong. I had to install a larger SSD drive to 1TB. Had really no problems with it. There customer service department is excellent. Had a small problem early on, nothing serious. They resolved it with no problem. I think it was with the video card. Give them a call and tell them what you going to use it for. They will give ideas and what you need. I had a Falcon NW before the Puget. It was a nice system. Out grew it. If I need a new computer I will most likely with Puget again.
John
John Langsenkamp
NSN 0077
 

by Mark L on Sat Jun 05, 2021 1:12 pm
Mark L
Forum Contributor
Posts: 92
Joined: 01 Feb 2020
Everything that I have read (including the articles at Puget) suggests that an AMD processor is the way to go.  I believe that the base memory speed for the AMD is 3200, not 2666 (which is the Intel base).  No comment on your choice of motherboard, but otherwise you have what should be a strong machine.  I would be sure that you have a good cooler on the processor.  
 

by signgrap on Sat Jun 05, 2021 1:30 pm
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1748
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
If you are trying to decide between Intel and AMD for your CPU I'd suggest you read E.J.'s take on the subject:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=288166
It appears that after years of trying AMD has pulled ahead.
Dick Ludwig
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Jun 05, 2021 3:41 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85819
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
For that savings, it's a very easy choice. As much as I hate to say it being an Intel retiree, the AMD system is a better value and any performance differences would be inconsequential given the rest of the systems are essentially identical. You will take a small hit due to the lower spec memory on the AMD system but not enough to make up for that huge price difference. I would also suggest specing out a system at Puget just to see if you can get more or less computer in the same price range. They also have pre-specced Photoshop builds that are designed to optimize performance for photo apps.
 

by mlgray12 on Sat Jun 05, 2021 4:59 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
Thanks everyone - I will check out Puget - I looked once but Falcon NW has always come through for me - their tech personnel ae good but they have headed more down gaming line - whereas E.J. pointed out Puget does have a more PS specked system
Thanks
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by mlgray12 on Sun Jun 06, 2021 10:53 am
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
Here is build I did on Puget website and sent to their sales group for comment - had to upsize tower to hold 4 drives
Comments are greatly appreciated

AMD Ryzen X570 ATX
Gigabyte X570 AORUS Ultra  - Motherboard
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 3.7GHz Twelve Core 105W
CPU 4 x DDR4-3200 32GB Ram 128GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 8GB Open Air Video Card
Onboard Sound Sound Card
Integrated WiFi+Bluetooth Networking
Samsung 980 Pro 1TB Gen4 M.2 SSD Hard Drive \ Primary drive.
Samsung 980 Pro 2TB Gen4 M.2 SSD Hard Drive \ Secondary drive.
Western Digital Red 12TB SATA3 Hard Drive Tertiary drive.
Western Digital Red 12TB SATA3 Hard Drive  Quaternary drive.
Rom Fractal Design Define 7 Case Super Flower LEADEX Platinum 850W Power Supply Noctua NH-U12AP CPU Cooling Case Fans Upgrade Kit (PWM Ramping) Additional Cooling
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Operating System
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum


Last edited by mlgray12 on Sun Jun 06, 2021 2:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 

by Langsey on Sun Jun 06, 2021 11:09 am
User avatar
Langsey
Forum Contributor
Posts: 303
Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Location: Indiana
Mike,
Looks a really good system. I would go with 64GB ram instead of the 32GB ram. You will enjoy the faster speed. I have 64 in my Puget and really like the speed.
John
John Langsenkamp
NSN 0077
 

by mlgray12 on Sun Jun 06, 2021 2:35 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
Langsey wrote:
Mike,
Looks a really good system. I would go with 64GB ram instead of the 32GB ram. You will enjoy the faster speed. I have 64 in my Puget and really like the speed.
John



John - I am going with EJ's recommendation of pushing Ram up to 128GB for the veru large files I work with on pans and layered TIFFs
Thanks 
I think i left out the total Ram - it is 4 x 32
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by Langsey on Sun Jun 06, 2021 4:00 pm
User avatar
Langsey
Forum Contributor
Posts: 303
Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Location: Indiana
That's even better. I am jealous.
John
John Langsenkamp
NSN 0077
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Jun 06, 2021 4:47 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85819
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Well it says 32GB 128 GB RAM - which is it ;) Definitely go with at minimum 64 but 128 for being more future proof.
 

by mlgray12 on Sun Jun 06, 2021 8:08 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
E.J. Peiker wrote:
Well it says 32GB 128 GB RAM - which is it ;)  Definitely go with at minimum 64 but 128 for being more future proof.


Thanks all - any of these specs way over board or any places where I can tweak this to be more future proof w/o breaking bank even worse than it is already 
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Jun 06, 2021 10:40 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85819
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
The first thing would be to ask why your secondary NVME drive is 2TB? Why a second NVME? If it is just to mirror the system drive then get the same size as the system drive which you have specified as 1TB. You could also scale back to 2667 memory as you had in your original Falcon system. Eliminating that drive and scaling back the memory speed would save a substantial amount of money.
 

by mlgray12 on Mon Jun 07, 2021 9:05 am
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
E.J. Peiker wrote:
The first thing would be to ask why your secondary NVME drive is 2TB?  Why a second NVME?  If it is just to mirror the system drive then get the same size as the system drive which you have specified as 1TB.  You could also scale back to 2667 memory as you had in your original Falcon system.  Eliminating that drive and scaling back the memory speed would save a substantial amount of money.




Thanks - EJ - first I meant for the second drive to be a scratch drive and I meant to change that back to a 1 TB drive, plus I thought the NVME drives in falcon were same ones I specified in Puget - will relook into that. If I go back to just one SSD I could also downsize the Tower but not sure that saves a lot
I thought I saw somewhere where you thought having a 2nd SSD for scratch was a good idea but maybe I miss-understood?
Thanks again

But I did check and both Falcon and Puget have same SSD's - I corrected 2nd drive back to a 1 TB - dropping to smaller case and getting rid of 2nd SSD drops price about $800 - each 1 TB of high speed SSD is about $225 at Puget. Saves only about $100 to scale back from high speed SSD to next one down - drops speed from 3300 MB/sec to 500 MB/sec since motherboard or something limiting actual speed of 7000 MB/sec 
This this stuff that is over my pay grade - so thanks for all the input keeping me from buying the wrong thing - still waiting to here from Puget 
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by Mark L on Mon Jun 07, 2021 10:39 am
Mark L
Forum Contributor
Posts: 92
Joined: 01 Feb 2020
Discuss the question with Puget, but I don't think that it is worth paying for the M2 drive for your scratch; use a plain SATA SSD for the scratch and save the money.  Also, I believe that the base memory frequency for the 5900 AMD processor is 3200, so again, speak with Puget, but I believe that you want to stay with the 3200 memory in the system.
 

by mlgray12 on Mon Jun 07, 2021 2:11 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
Mark L wrote:
Discuss the question with Puget, but I don't think that it is worth paying for the M2 drive for your scratch; use a plain SATA SSD for the scratch and save the money.  Also, I believe that the base memory frequency for the 5900 AMD processor is 3200, so again, speak with Puget, but I believe that you want to stay with the 3200 memory in the system.



Thanks - I am discsussing build with Puget and the both system builds I have at this point are 3200 . The difference between the 1 TB M2 drive is only $100 more which is not much for the build but $100 is still money.
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Jun 08, 2021 5:59 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85819
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Yes a second NVME would be a great scratch drive but 2TB is massive overkill for that. You could easily use a 256 or 512 for that. I would not use traditional SSDs as they are MUCH slower.

Ah, didn't realize the base spec for memory on the AMD processors.
 

by mlgray12 on Tue Jun 08, 2021 10:34 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
Here is what I think I will go with - one more round with sales and any comments are welcome
I stuck with 1TB in scratch since cost was so little difference and will use part of that drive to backup operating drive
Gigabyte B550 Vision D Motherboard
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 3.7GHz Twelve Core 105W CPU
4 x DDR4-3200 32GB Ram - 128 GB total
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 8GB Open Air Video Card
Onboard Sound Sound Card
Integrated WiFi+Bluetooth Networking
Samsung 980 Pro 1TB Gen4 M.2 SSD Hard Drive Operating drive
Samsung 980 Pro 1TB Gen4 M.2 SSD Hard Drive = scratch, etc
Western Digital Red 12TB SATA3 Hard Drive -Tertiary drive.
Western Digital Red 12TB SATA3 Hard Drive Quaternary drive.
Super Flower LEADEX Platinum 850W Power Supply
Noctua NH-U12AP CPU Cooling

Thanks everyone - would still be scratching my head without your help - but will make a dent in my bank account but that was expected
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

by E.J. Peiker on Thu Jun 10, 2021 11:29 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 85819
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Looks like an amazing system, if you have any extra bucks, go to a 3080 video card but certainly the 3070 is more than adequate.
 

by mlgray12 on Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:03 pm
User avatar
mlgray12
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1711
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fort Davis, Texas
Member #:01023
E.J. Peiker wrote:
Looks like an amazing system, if you have any extra bucks, go to a 3080 video card but certainly the 3070 is more than adequate.

Thanks EJ

I might bump up video card - maybe weak link at this point for future proofing - but now for serious question that is way over my head
I have new basically identical system using a X570  Motherboard instead of the 550 as above. The 570X is a touch more expensive and Puget sales says I would lose Thunderbolt 3 ports but the 570x has all Gen4 M.2 slots with x2 USB Type C ports upfront
[font=Calibri, sans-serif]I currently have no use for Thunderbolt but also have no idea what Thunderbolt 3 advantages are???
[/font]
Michael L. Gray
Wildlife and Conservation Bum
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
23 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group