Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by Mark Robinson on Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:09 pm
Mark Robinson
Forum Contributor
I noticed that my computer can get a bit bogged down when previewing images in Nikon NX Studio, applying DeNoise filters and opening databases with numerous Rhino files. Will an upgraded graphics card help? If so, which one? Many thanks in advance.

Mark Robinson
http://www.critterlight.com

by Mark L on Tue Jun 15, 2021 2:12 pm
Mark L
Forum Contributor
While I have no experience with the Nikon NX Studio, I think that it is time for you to consider upgrading your computer.  The processor is many generations old, you have very little memory to support working with images and your graphics card is many generations old (and therefore has slow graphics memory).  

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Jun 15, 2021 5:20 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
Agree with Mark, while you will certainly get gains by upgrading to a modern graphics card, assuming you have a power supply that can handle the much higher power demands of today's cards, it may be time to go for a new computer. The processor you have is now 7 generations old. If that isn't viable, in addition to a graphics card, going to something like 64 GB of memory will give you a big benefit. Even 32GB would result in a significant improvement. DeNoise would get a huge boost but even before that, make sure in the DeNoise preferences that the nVidia card is being used for DeNoise and not the CPU.

by Mark Robinson on Wed Jun 16, 2021 10:07 am
Mark Robinson
Forum Contributor