NatureScapes.net Forums
https://www.naturescapes.net/forums/

DxO Photolab 2 and Prophoto RGB ?
https://www.naturescapes.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=283764
Page 1 of 1

Author:  WJaekel [ Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:57 pm ]
Post subject:  DxO Photolab 2 and Prophoto RGB ?

In my workflow with CaptureOne 12  I always convert the Raw files into 16 bit Tiffs in Prophoto RGB for my master files, even if the copies need to be converted to a smaller workingspace at the end of the process. In my understanding it is recommended to keep as much of the data and color information as possible in the first step though most current output devices are unable to display all the colors of the Prophoto workspace, of course.
  
That said, I was playing around with DxO Photolab 2.2 for comparisons with C1 but didn't find the option to convert the Raws into the Prophoto RGB color space. There's just the option to export to 16bit AdobeRGB Tiffs (or any custom settings whatever this means).  From what I read, DxO uses Adobe RGB as its internal working color space so that a conversion to ProphotoRGB in fact would not make sense and for that reason obviously is not offered in the export dialogue ?

I'm familiar with CaptureOne but not so much with DxO to date. That's why I'm wondering if the Raw files actually cannot be converted to Prophoto RGB by using DxO ?

Thank you in advance for your comments

Wolfgang

Author:  Jens Peermann [ Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: DxO Photolab 2 and Prophoto RGB ?

WJaekel wrote:
In my workflow with CaptureOne 12  I always convert the Raw files into 16 bit Tiffs in Prophoto RGB for my master files, even if the copies need to be converted to a smaller workingspace at the end of the process. In my understanding it is recommended to keep as much of the data and color information as possible in the first step though most current output devices are unable to display all the colors of the Prophoto workspace, of course.
  
That said, I was playing around with DxO Photolab 2.2 for comparisons with C1 but didn't find the option to convert the Raws into the Prophoto RGB color space. There's just the option to export to 16bit AdobeRGB Tiffs (or any custom settings whatever this means).  From what I read, DxO uses Adobe RGB as its internal working color space so that a conversion to ProphotoRGB in fact would not make sense and for that reason obviously is not offered in the export dialogue ?

I'm familiar with CaptureOne but not so much with DxO to date. That's why I'm wondering if the Raw files actually cannot be converted to Prophoto RGB by using DxO ?

Thank you in advance for your comments

Wolfgang


ProphotoRGB now goes by the name ROMM RGB. Look for that.

Author:  E.J. Peiker [ Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:26 pm ]
Post subject: 

I believe this may lend some insight:
https://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=128264.0

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
//www.phpbb.com/