fbpixel

Moderators: Greg Downing, E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 4 posts | 
by Gary Gulash on Wed May 22, 2019 10:26 pm
Gary Gulash
Forum Contributor
Posts: 393
Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Member #:01832
I'm perplexed as to why my CC Lightroom has become extremely slow functioning. I download my D500 files to an external hard drive, G-Drive 4 TB (presently has 1.2/4 TB) and then use Lightroom on my late 2016 iMac, 3.3 GHz, Core i5, with 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3. I'm using the usb3 connection between external and the iMac. I have not been using ANY keywording or organization within Lightroom, just download and edit select raw images as required. I just have one large catalogue with a few subfiles (I like to photograph, not so much organize my ever growing mass of images). 

So the problem is that importing the images from their original location takes a long time. Opening individual files is glacial as well. Forget about any multitasking, can barely open Safari, while importing. At this point I can barely use Lightroom and I'm exasperated with the software. Looking for advice as where to begin unravelling my mess. 

Thanks! 
 

by E.J. Peiker on Thu May 23, 2019 6:53 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 83422
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Without sitting at the computer it can be tough to diagnose but the first thing that stands out is that 8GB of memory is likely not enough for a smooth experience. You might look at upping that to 16 or 32GB. In general though even when everything is working well, LR is not generally thought of as a "fast" program. the larger the catalogue, the more it taxes the system.
 

by Gary Gulash on Thu May 23, 2019 8:52 am
Gary Gulash
Forum Contributor
Posts: 393
Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Member #:01832
Thankyou for the reply E.J., that makes sense to upgrade the RAM. I was so focused on LR not being optimized somehow that I forgot about just increasing the horsepower. I'll be contacting Apple asap to order that.
 

by E.J. Peiker on Thu May 23, 2019 11:16 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 83422
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Gary Gulash wrote:
Thankyou for the reply E.J., that makes sense to upgrade the RAM. I was so focused on LR not being optimized somehow that I forgot about just increasing the horsepower. I'll be contacting Apple asap to order that.


Go to Macsales.com for that, not Apple!!!!
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
4 posts | 
  

People Who Like This:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group