fbpixel

Moderators: Greg Downing, E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 5 posts | 
by Martin 095 on Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:52 am
Martin 095
Lifetime Member
Posts: 678
Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Location: New York
Member #:01126
Hi,

I use LR 6 (v 6.14, with Camera RAW v 10.1) on a 2008 Mac Pro running Yosemite.  For the most part, this software works well on my old system and does all I ask of it.  However, every now and then, it randomly (at least as it appears to me) to behave oddly.  The most common change I notice is that, when in Develop mode, I try to Enable Profile Corrections for my lens, the list of available profiles changes.  Most times it is quite extensive but other times the list is truncated (for instance Tokina does not show up – but when the "full" list is available, I see this option).  More recently, I attempted to alter the WB and whereas this normally includes As Shot, Auto, Daylight, Shady, etc, sometimes it is limited to just three choices: As Shot, Auto, and Custom.

I have no idea what governs this behavior.  I don't expect my choices in this mode to change, and more over, this happens, regardless of the camera used to generate the original image.

Any ideas?  I believe I am using the latest update available for LR6 that is compatible with Yosemite, and the same should be true for Camera RAW.  TIA!
Best wishes,

Martin
"If there is a sin against life, it consists, perhaps not so much in despairing of life, as hoping for another life and eluding the implacable grandeur of this life." - Albert Camus
 

by signgrap on Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:13 am
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1593
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
Does this happens on RAW images or is it happening on a converted TIFF or JPEG?
If they are converted images it might be the the metadata was not transfered properly. This frequestly is a problem in LR with 3rd party lenses.
Dick Ludwig
 

by Martin 095 on Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:27 am
Martin 095
Lifetime Member
Posts: 678
Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Location: New York
Member #:01126
Hi Dick,

Thanks for getting back to me. This is on .dng files, which is how I store all my images.
Best wishes,

Martin
"If there is a sin against life, it consists, perhaps not so much in despairing of life, as hoping for another life and eluding the implacable grandeur of this life." - Albert Camus
 

by signgrap on Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:05 pm
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1593
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
Martin 095 wrote:
Hi Dick,

Thanks for getting back to me.  This is on .dng files, which is how I store all my images.

Then my guess is that the metadata of the third party lenses is not getting saved correctly to the DNG file. My experiance with LR was that I frequently had to go into the lens profiles to pick the correct lens as my Tamron and Sigma lenses weren't ID'ed properly by LR. So if you never got to ID the lens correctly before converting to a DNG then it was saved with missing metadata and giving you the problem now.
Dick Ludwig
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:52 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 83007
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Sounds like the DNG converter isn't picking up the lens ID field properly in the files. this along with several other issues is why I generally recommend against going to a storage method that converts all files to DNG and then trashes the original RAW files. There is a lot of info in the original files, a lot of it manufacturer specific, that is not picked up by DNG.
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
5 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group