All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 9 posts | 
by dbolt on Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:32 pm
dbolt
Forum Contributor
Member #:00842
I have been using Acronis backup software since 2007, but my PC (Win10Pro 1809 build 17763.195) has been getting blamed by WhoCrashed for causing UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP BSOD.  WhoCrashed says the BSOD was caused by fitsrv.sys.  The BSOD occurs several times a month, but not predictably.  I have not been successful getting a simple fix from Acronis.  They indicate that ver 2019 is available.  I'm running 2018, which is up to date.  Not sure I want to shell out another $25 with just a hope 2019 will fix the problem.  I've removed Acronis with add/remove and reinstalled and still see the problem.  Maybe it is time to try a different backup/restore program.  One that provides better support when something goes wrong.  

Suggestions?
Douglas Bolt
Maryland, USA
http://dougboltphotography.com

by E.J. Peiker on Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:26 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
I ran into problems with Acronis several years ago and completely removed it from all systems. I have found a similar but better product that includes the cloning capability like Acronis as well as backup and virtually all that Acronis could do plus more and for most people the free version may be all you need. It's called Macrium Reflect.

by dbolt on Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:50 pm
dbolt
Forum Contributor
Member #:00842
Thanks, E.J.

I'll give it a try. Acronis is getting too complicated and all-encompassing anyhow. I just want to a backup system that doesn't know about the kitchen sink, just primarily backup and restore.
Douglas Bolt
Maryland, USA
http://dougboltphotography.com

by Ed Cordes on Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:43 pm
Ed Cordes
Forum Contributor
Member #:00700