fbpixel

Moderators: Greg Downing, E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 12 posts | 
by Aaron Jors on Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:46 pm
Aaron Jors
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1123
Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Location: Wisconsin
It's about that time for a new desktop computer.  Below are the specs I'm considering.  Any thoughts?  Used mainly for photo work in Photoshop CS6 may upgrade to Photoshop CC at some point.  Currently running a 24" monitor and smaller secondary monitor.  Will upgrade monitors at some point probably to two 27" (on the fence about going 4K or not but likely they will be 4K.)

Intel Core i7-8700K
ASUS TUF Z370 PRO
GeForce GTX 1070 SC
4x - 16GB DDR4 2400 RAM
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB SSD
2x WD Black 4TB Hard drives
Windows 10 PRO 64 bit

One question I have is if 64GB of RAM is needed or if 32GB would suffice.


Last edited by Aaron Jors on Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 

by Richard B. on Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:09 pm
Richard B.
Lifetime Member
Posts: 196
Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Location: Central Massachusetts
Member #:01199
Aaron,

Here is a link to an article that you may find of interest on building a photoshop computer. It's a couple of years old but it still may be of help. I'm sure others here will add information.

https://photographylife.com/the-ultimate-pc-build-for-photography-needs

Richard
 

by bradmangas on Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:11 pm
User avatar
bradmangas
Forum Contributor
Posts: 216
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
These questions are always a somewhat obscure proposition to comment on. They are typically based on getting the most for what one can afford. Since you are not mentioning the newest available or the most maxed out available I would say get the most you can afford to get. That being MB, processor, graphics, memory. That along with a quality build by a reputable company.

I am somewhat confused on the 2x 4TB hard drives. My assumption is one will be a working drive and the other a back up to the working drive. If this is the case I would recommend reconsidering how you are doing this. I would not have two hard drives installed with one being the backup. There are much more reliable (albeit possibly more costly) ways of providing backup to a working drive.

One other consideration if needing to find ways to get the best results for your money, don't feel obligated to spend more on a 4k monitor. Since you are going with a PC most things are okay with the PC end and 4k. Though not a critical consideration when producing high quality prints. Mac and Apple 4k monitors on the other hand have known issues due to Apples process of emulation to attempt to achieve 4k, which ends up not actually being 4k and skewing the shown display size to the actual physical size of something like a print. But no need to digress down that track. A good sized color accurate monitor such as you mentioned (27") will be much more advantageous even if it is not 4k. Along with the proper software/hardware calibration system for it. Small pixels are not what you need when editing an image that will be produced as a print on something like a 300 dpi printer.  

Always exciting buying new hardware, have fun.
 

by adamsti on Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:37 pm
adamsti
Forum Contributor
Posts: 156
Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Location: Minooka, IL
I looked at a bunch of articles trying to pick what I would have built. This is on the test bench now at avadirect.com.

Core V71 Tempered Glass, No PSU, E-ATX, Black, Full Tower Case
ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wi-Fi), Intel Z390 Chipset, LGA 1151, HDMI, ATX Motherboard
Core™ i7-9700K 8-Core 3.6 - 4.9GHz Turbo, LGA 1151, 95W TDP, Processor
Mild Overclocking, 10-20% Performance Increase
GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING ACX 2.0, 1506 - 1708MHz, 6GB GDDR5, Graphics Card
32GB Kit (2 x 16GB) Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 2666MHz, CL16, Grey, DIMM Memory
FOCUS PLUS Gold, 80 PLUS Gold 850W, Fully Modular, ATX Power Supply
MasterAir MA620P, 164.5mm Height, 200W TDP, Copper/Aluminum CPU Cooler
Formula 7, 4g, 8.3 (W/m-K), Nano Diamond, Thermal Compound
1TB MX500 2280, 560 / 510 MB/s, 3D NAND, SATA 6Gb/s, M.2 SSD
3TB BarraCuda ST3000DM008, 7200 RPM, SATA 6Gb/s NCQ, 64MB cache, 3.5-Inch HDD
DRW-24B1ST, DVD 24x / CD 48x, DVD-Writer, 5.25-Inch, Optical Drive
PCE-AC51, Internal, Dual-Band 2.4 / 5GHz, 300 / 433 Mbps, PCI Express 2.0 x1, Wireless Adapter
Standard Wiring with Precision Cable Routing and Tie-Down
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit DVD OEM
 

by Richard B. on Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:36 am
Richard B.
Lifetime Member
Posts: 196
Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Location: Central Massachusetts
Member #:01199
Adamsti:

Pardon me for not knowing the language, but "on the test bench at "avadirect.com" means that this system is being built for you? If that is the case, would you mind indicating a ball park price for the build?

Thanks.

Richard
 

by Phil Shaw on Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:46 am
Phil Shaw
Forum Contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Member #:00106
Just some quick thoughts.

32Gb of RAM will be fine - if you are doing a lot of large panoramas, then I would go for 64Gb.
I think you should get at least 500Gb SSD for OS, apps, temporary desktop storage etc.
You don't say which motherboard will be used. In some respects, this determines all else, and particularly, the headers available for SSD connections. Presumably the mb has an M.2 header for the Samsung drive, or is this being installed on a PCIe card?
I didn't think WD Black drives were available any more - old stock? The replacements are called WD Gold and have a slightly better spec. Nothing wrong with the Black drives in my experience though, I have a bunch of them and never had a problem.
 

by adamsti on Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:43 pm
adamsti
Forum Contributor
Posts: 156
Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Location: Minooka, IL
Richard B. wrote:
Adamsti:

Pardon me for not knowing the language, but "on the test bench at "avadirect.com" means that this system is being built for you? If that is the case, would you mind indicating a ball park price for the build?

Thanks.

Richard


Yes, this is the third system they have built for me. They do burn-in testing, and make sure the overclock is stable before they ship. It is a little over $2,300.
 

by Aaron Jors on Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:51 pm
Aaron Jors
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1123
Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Phil Shaw wrote:
Just some quick thoughts.

32Gb of RAM will be fine - if you are doing a lot of large panoramas, then I would go for 64Gb.
I think you should get at least 500Gb SSD for OS, apps, temporary desktop storage etc.
You don't say which motherboard will be used.  In some respects, this determines all else, and particularly, the headers available for SSD connections.  Presumably the mb has an M.2 header for the Samsung drive, or is this being installed on a PCIe card?
I didn't think WD Black drives were available any more - old stock?  The replacements are called WD Gold and have a slightly better spec.  Nothing wrong with the Black drives in my experience though,  I have a bunch of them and never had a problem.



ASUS TUF Z370 PRO is the motherboard they have speced.  What benefits would there be tot he 500GB SSD?
 

by adamsti on Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:28 pm
adamsti
Forum Contributor
Posts: 156
Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Location: Minooka, IL
I have a 250GB SSD on my current system. I have to watch because it tends to fill up fast with temp. files from the internet. It does not leave a ton of room to spare if you have a lot of programs loaded onto it.
 

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Dec 10, 2018 7:55 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82305
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Without knowing what camera you are using (megapixels) and how you process your photos, and whether or not you do panoramas and any number of other considerations, one can not tell you how much memory is "enough"

The main thing I would consider is an m.2 SSD not a traditional SSD, they are literally 5 to 10 times faster.
 

by Aaron Jors on Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:38 pm
Aaron Jors
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1123
Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Thanks everyone for the feedback.
 

by Aaron Jors on Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:39 pm
Aaron Jors
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1123
Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Location: Wisconsin
E.J. Peiker wrote:
Without knowing what camera you are using (megapixels) and how you process your photos, and whether or not you do panoramas and any number of other considerations, one can not tell you how much memory is "enough"

The main thing I would consider is an m.2 SSD not a traditional SSD, they are literally 5 to 10 times faster.



I use a Canon EOS 5DSR.  For processing I use Photoshop, Tony Kupers Luminosity Masking Panel alot, a do some panos but not to many.
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
12 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group