fbpixel

Moderators: Greg Downing, E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 19 posts | 
by SantaFeJoe on Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:58 pm
User avatar
SantaFeJoe
Forum Contributor
Posts: 6025
Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Member #:01817
Photo and file eater:

https://petapixel.com/2018/10/08/windows-10-update-pulled-after-users-report-deleted-photos-files/

Joe
Learn the rules like a pro, so you can break them like an artist.  -Pablo Picasso
 

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:22 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82323
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
So glad I turned off updates.  The last version 1803 encrypted some computers including Microsoft's own Surface models without giving the user an encryption key and even MS couldn't get the files back and now this.  They must immediately change the non-pro versions to allow users to turn off updates.  They can not be trusted to issue updates that don't compromise critical data.  By the way a maintenance update of 1803 also broke some applications like Topaz Studio when using Intel integrated graphics and it's not something that Topaz can fix, it's a problem with the OS.
 

by signgrap on Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:29 am
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1556
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
I have Win 10 Pro with 1803 OS Build 17134.320 installed. I checked to see if I had Auto Updates turned off. I used this article as a guide to make sure everything was set properly https://www.computerworld.com/article/3232632/microsoft-windows/how-to-block-the-windows-10-october-2018-update-version-1809-from-installing.html
Scroll down to the black screen shot "Advanced Options". I have everything in the first 3 buttons HOWEVER "Pause Updates" and everything below is missing.
Any ideas why my system is missing "Pause Updates"?
Anyway to turn on "Pause Updates"?
Dick Ludwig
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:21 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82323
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Hmm, can't figure out why yours doesn't show the full options pane Dick - all of my computers show it properly.
 

by signgrap on Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:52 am
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1556
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
Should I be OK with with just the 3 top set the way they indicate in the screen shot?
Dick Ludwig
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:13 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82323
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
No, that won't stop things.  Are you sure you have Pro?  Your system is behaving like it's Win 10 Home.
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:23 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82323
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Also, make sure you are logged in as an administrator!
 

by signgrap on Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:16 pm
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1556
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
E.J. Peiker wrote:
No, that won't stop things.  Are you sure you have Pro?  Your system is behaving like it's Win 10 Home.

Duh :oops:
Appears one of my two desktops has Home.
Could have happened when I upgraded from Win 8.1 as I did an auto update for that computer.
Dick Ludwig
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:19 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82323
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
With Home, the best thing you can do is to set the computer to think it's on a Metered Connection. It will only do security updates then, at least for a while!
 

by Jeff Colburn on Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:49 pm
User avatar
Jeff Colburn
Forum Contributor
Posts: 276
Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Location: Cottonwood, Arizona
Thanks for the heads-up Joe. Unfortunately, I can't turn off automatic updates, but fortunately, I don't keep any files in the "personal documents folders." I keep all my files in folders that I created.

Have Fun,
Jeff
Fine Art Prints and Stock Photography of Arizona www.JeffColburn.com See my ebooks in the NatureScapes Store 25 Places To Sell Your Photographs And Photography Skills and The Vanishing Old West - Jerome
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:00 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82323
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
Jeff Colburn wrote:
Thanks for the heads-up Joe. Unfortunately, I can't turn off automatic updates, but fortunately, I don't keep any files in the "personal documents folders." I keep all my files in folders that I created.

Have Fun,
Jeff


But you can set it to Metered Connection!
 

by KK Hui on Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:45 pm
User avatar
KK Hui
Moderator
Posts: 41756
Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Location: Hong Kong, China
Member #:00536
My machine is running on Wins 10 Home.
Updated to 1803 without a hitch few days ago.
I have all my personal files in a separate drive from the system 'c' drive though.
KK Hui  FRPS
Fellow of The Royal Photographic Society
Personal Website | Portfolio @ Flickr

Lifetime Member NSN 0536
 

by Mike in O on Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:53 pm
Mike in O
Forum Contributor
Posts: 2346
Joined: 22 Dec 2013
I thought it has been corrected...lightroom shows no pictures (how to find them?), my chome list popped up with a very old list, all new erased. This is just fine, I am having to spend all this time rebuilding my system with some parts lost forever. A class action suit is in the making. Was MS hacked by N.Korea?
 

by SantaFeJoe on Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:02 pm
User avatar
SantaFeJoe
Forum Contributor
Posts: 6025
Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Member #:01817
Glad I’m still with Windows 7!!!!    :lol:    :wink:

Joe 
Learn the rules like a pro, so you can break them like an artist.  -Pablo Picasso
 

by Mike in O on Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:04 pm
Mike in O
Forum Contributor
Posts: 2346
Joined: 22 Dec 2013
I got my catalog back, whew.  Spoke too soon, it wants to restart my computer again and download more crap.  Meter turn off is no longer offered by the way unless I am reading it wrong.
 

by bartley123 on Wed Oct 10, 2018 6:55 pm
bartley123
Forum Contributor
Posts: 134
Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Location: Western Mass.
No problems with the upgrade yet (since Friday). Haven't found anything yet worth the upgrade but maybe too soon to tell.
Don Cooper
Western Mass.
http://www.doncooper.photos
 

by DChan on Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:42 am
DChan
Forum Contributor
Posts: 1744
Joined: 09 Jan 2009
No issues here !

Windows 10 Pro.
 

by E.J. Peiker on Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:34 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82323
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
KK Hui wrote:
My machine is running on Wins 10 Home.
Updated to 1803 without a hitch few days ago.
I have all my personal files in a separate drive from the system 'c' drive though.

1809 is the big problem.  1803 had some problems long resolved.
 

by KK Hui on Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:59 pm
User avatar
KK Hui
Moderator
Posts: 41756
Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Location: Hong Kong, China
Member #:00536
E.J. Peiker wrote:
KK Hui wrote:
My machine is running on Wins 10 Home.
Updated to 1803 without a hitch few days ago.
I have all my personal files in a separate drive from the system 'c' drive though.

1809 is the big problem.  1803 had some problems long resolved.


Oops! It is 1809 I'm referring to.
A typo on my part, sorry!
KK Hui  FRPS
Fellow of The Royal Photographic Society
Personal Website | Portfolio @ Flickr

Lifetime Member NSN 0536
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
19 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group