fbpixel

Moderators: Greg Downing, E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 13 posts | 
by Ed Cordes on Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:30 pm
User avatar
Ed Cordes
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3795
Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Location: Corning, NY
Member #:00700
I have been using Ai Clear for a while now.  Here is my non expert assessment.

I like it a lot, but there are some images that still look better with NIK.  I think the images that work with NIK better are those without a lot of fine detail like bird feathers or small stone details etc.

Ai Clear is outstanding with images containing fine details .  It does reduce noise using either low or medium settings.  It is amazing in how it sharpens detail.  In fact, I have taken to using it as my "capture sharpening" step instead of PK sharpener or Lightroom sharpening. 

It is easy to use and I am getting used to the user interface required by Topaz.  All in all I think it an excellent tool to have in arsenal.

Hope this helps.  I look forward to other's comments.
Remember, a little mild insanity keeps us healthy
 

by Tim Zurowski on Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:45 pm
User avatar
Tim Zurowski
Forum Contributor
Posts: 18843
Joined: 04 Apr 2006
Location: Victoria BC, Canada
Been using Topaz DeNoise for a couple of years now and LOVE IT! What's the difference between Ai Clear and DeNoise??
Cheers
Tim Zurowski
www.timzphotography.com
 

by E.J. Peiker on Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:07 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82182
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
This should answer your questions:
https://topazlabs.com/introducing-ai-clear/
 

by Rocky Sharwell on Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:28 am
Rocky Sharwell
Lifetime Member
Posts: 2957
Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Member #:00054
Ed and any other users:

Do you use Clear early on as suggested by Topaz? So far I like the program but hate the interface..
Thanks
Rocky Sharwell
 

by Ed Cordes on Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:36 am
User avatar
Ed Cordes
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3795
Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Location: Corning, NY
Member #:00700
Hi Rocky, Yes, I use Ai Clear as the first step after sending the image to PS from LR. I, too, wish the interface were a bit better. However, once I got used to it it isn't much different than the intervace the NIK software has.
Remember, a little mild insanity keeps us healthy
 

by Rocky Sharwell on Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:17 pm
Rocky Sharwell
Lifetime Member
Posts: 2957
Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Member #:00054
Thanks Ed! I am hoping I will get used to it-after all I have adapted to Sony menu systems
Rocky Sharwell
 

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:02 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82182
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
It truly is amazing software. Brings life to my old 4 megapixel EOS 1D files.
 

by Richard B. on Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:18 am
Richard B.
Lifetime Member
Posts: 186
Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Location: Central Massachusetts
Member #:01199
Wow E.J., coming from you that is truly effusive praise!  :)  I will get the trial version of this program.
.
Does everyone agree that the best practice is to apply this plug-in right after import into photoshop (or other editing program) ?

Thanks.

Richard B.
 

by signgrap on Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:30 pm
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1532
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
Do I understand correctly that in order to use Topaz AI Clear you need to have Topaz Studio in order to run it?
AI Gigapixel is a standalone app that does not need any other apps in order to use it?
Dick Ludwig
 

by Ed Cordes on Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:37 pm
User avatar
Ed Cordes
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3795
Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Location: Corning, NY
Member #:00700
Yes, you do need Topaz Studio to use Ai Clear
Remember, a little mild insanity keeps us healthy
 

by E.J. Peiker on Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:42 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82182
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
signgrap wrote:
Do I understand correctly that in order to use Topaz AI Clear you need to have Topaz Studio in order to run it?
AI Gigapixel is a standalone app that does not need any other apps in order to use it?


Note that the basic Topaz Studio is free so there is no additional purchase to use AI Clear - you just need to buy AI Clear.  It has become my default NR software.
 

by signgrap on Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:54 pm
User avatar
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Posts: 1532
Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Location: Delaware Water Gap, PA
Member #:00424
E.J. do you use AI Clear with a7R III files when shot at high ISO?
Dick Ludwig
 

by E.J. Peiker on Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:25 am
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 82182
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
signgrap wrote:
E.J. do you use AI Clear with a7R III files when shot at high ISO?

I use it with any file that could use some noise reduction in smooth surface areas without touching areas with detail and not needing any masking to do this.  This  includes the a7R III but also when I work on old files going all the way back to the early days of digital and even medium format stuff.
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
13 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group