fbpixel

Moderators: Greg Downing, E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC - 5 hours

  
« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 7 posts | 
by Craig Lipski on Thu May 10, 2018 9:56 am
User avatar
Craig Lipski
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3565
Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Location: The bustling metropolis of Fowlerville, Michigan
Member #:00495
I'm finally going to pull the trigger on a 5D IV.  That will necessitate an upgrade from CS6 to CC (I don't want to go the DNG route.)  Looking at Adobe's website, it says that Lightroom CC requires Win 10; I only use Bridge and PS, so I'm not worried about Lightroom, but before I make the significant financial outlay, I want to be sure that PS CC will work w/ Win 7; I got put in the queue to chat w/ an Adobe rep, but last time I tried that it took hours, with me tied to the computer; I figured someone here would surely know the answer.
Thanks in advance.

Edit: Adobe says it WILL work w/ Win 7, but reading a lot of confusing stuff on the web, it might be worth noting that I have Win 7 Professional, 64 bit, with Service Pack 1; it sounds like some people have experienced major headaches with this, and if you can't tell, I'm not very computer savvy.


Edit 2: Adobe says it requires "Intel Core 2 or AMD Athlon processor, 2 GHz or faster processor."  I have an "Intel Core i7-4930MX CPU @ 3.00  GHZ  3.20 GHz".  This is all Greek to me; am I OK?
Good light,
Craig
 

by bartley123 on Thu May 10, 2018 10:54 am
bartley123
Forum Contributor
Posts: 127
Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Location: Holyoke, MA
Evidently you understand Greek better than you think. Your PC has plenty of power, can't speak for win7 but it should be fine but you really should switch over to Windows 10 now and save yourself some headaches later when you'll probably be required to make the switch.
Don Cooper
Western Mass.
http://www.doncooper.photos
 

by dissent on Thu May 10, 2018 12:19 pm
User avatar
dissent
Forum Contributor
Posts: 669
Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Location: Illinois
I've been using CC with Win 7/64 on an i5-something or another for a short while now. Haven't noticed any big issues yet.
 

by E.J. Peiker on Thu May 10, 2018 1:13 pm
User avatar
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Posts: 81277
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Member #:00002
You won't have any problems.
 

by Craig Lipski on Thu May 10, 2018 2:01 pm
User avatar
Craig Lipski
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3565
Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Location: The bustling metropolis of Fowlerville, Michigan
Member #:00495
Thanks all!
Good light,
Craig
 

by John Guastella on Fri May 11, 2018 10:53 am
John Guastella
Forum Contributor
Posts: 339
Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Another approach - and in my opinion a better one - is to convert the 5DIV raw files in DPP and then send the TIFFs to PS CS6 for any additional editing.

John
 

by Craig Lipski on Fri May 11, 2018 4:34 pm
User avatar
Craig Lipski
Forum Contributor
Posts: 3565
Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Location: The bustling metropolis of Fowlerville, Michigan
Member #:00495
John Guastella wrote:
Another approach - and in my opinion a better one - is to convert the 5DIV raw files in DPP and then send the TIFFs to PS CS6 for any additional editing.

John



Thanks, John.
That’s an idea I’ve been considering, and will probably explore, but I want to start out, if not exactly in my comfort zone, with something that I won’t feel totally clueless with at the outset.
Good light,
Craig
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:  
7 posts | 
  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group