Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by WJaekel on Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:57 pm
WJaekel
Forum Contributor
I have been using Synctoy for many years to back up all my folders spread over several PCs in my LAN. In the Contribute mode it works great but I now realized that the Echo mode doesn't work for me - no matter on which folder pair this setting is applied: It does overwrite older files on the right but nothing is deleted there. I just can delete the whole folder pair and start a new back up in the contribute mode to circumnavigate this issue whenever I've deleted any files in the orginal folder on the left. That's certainly not what you want.
I've seen the past threads of August and April 2016. Evidentally synctoy works fine for some users (i.e. E.J.) So I wonder what's wrong here ? I don't think that all the log files are corrupt and I never made any changes in the back upped folders on the right. If you google synctoy and echo, it's evidentally a known problem. Anyway, does anybody has found a solution to solve or circumnavigate the issue  ?

I really don't want to switch to another program which would request to start from the scratch and back up countless folders and projects with some 100000+  files again that I have copied on multiple drives with synctoy over the years.

Thank you in advance

Wolfgang

by Charlie Woodrich on Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:36 pm
Charlie Woodrich
Forum Contributor
I wish I could help.  I have the same issue.  I tried everything.  I uninstalled it; then reinstalled it.  Read through various forums but came up with nothing.  Then I started looking around for something to buy, but that isn't easy either.  Many of the programs out there want to rewrite or compress the data.  If you find an answer to the echo issue or find a good replacement, let us know.

by signgrap on Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:52 pm
signgrap
Lifetime Member
Member #:00424