Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 9 posts | 
by absu on Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:59 am
absu
Forum Contributor
I am new in Mac. My usual editing is covered under windows desktop & several images are backed up in external HD. Now when I try to save any file from my new Mac book pro to ex HD it is not allowing any saving of file after editing. Though it is allowing reading & editing via CS6, but simply not allow any writing in EX HD.

Please help.
Anirban Basu

"Beauty is simply reality seen with the eyes of love" 
— Rabindranath Tagore

Email: anirbanbasu0606@gmail.com

by Doug Brown on Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:50 am
Doug Brown
Forum Contributor
Member #:01836
It may be that you need to reformat your external drive. Macs cannot write to NTFS-formatted drives. If you are NTFS-formatted, try reformatting to Mac OS Extended (Journaled) using the Mac's Disk Utility.

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:37 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
You likely formatted the drive using Windows and the NTFS format. Mac can read that but not natively write to it. For a shared drive that you can use on either platform do the following:
Backup all of the data on the external drive somewhere on a drive that was formatted on your Mac to either DOS (FAT 32) or MAC OS Journaled.
Format the drive that you copied the data from using DOS as the file format. Copy all of the data back onto the drive. Or just use the drive that you copied all of the data to in the first place.

If you don't need the drive to be Windows compatible anymore, just use MAC OS Journaled as the format.

To format a drive under Mac OS go into Utilities and then Drive Utility and use the Erase function.

by E.J. Peiker on Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:38 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor