All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 13 posts | 
by Scott Fairbairn on Mon Mar 02, 2020 8:24 pm
Scott Fairbairn
Forum Contributor
Member #:00437
Hi, I’m looking for recommendations for binoculars. Ideally I want a wide FOV, high eye relief since I wear glasses and not too heavy. Close focusing would be good as well. I’d like good quality but I’m not interested in spending a $1,000 because they’ll be bounced around a bit. 
I’m thinking 8x is probably sufficient. I’ll be carrying them around my neck while photographing and I’ve been using canon image stabilized versions but they are heavy and have a narrow FOV so I’m looking for something better. 
Thanks for any suggestions!
Scott

by Ed Cordes on Mon Mar 02, 2020 9:42 pm
Ed Cordes
Forum Contributor
Member #:00700
I have a pair of Vortex Vipers 8 X 42. I have been using them for over 10 years and love them. I believe I paid around $350-400 at the time. I would advise against 10 X as the FOV is small and it is much harder to hold steady.
Remember, a little mild insanity keeps us healthy

by Jeff Pearl on Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:26 pm
Jeff Pearl
Forum Contributor
Member #:02142
[url=https://www.leupold.com/binoculars/bx-1-yosemite-8x30mm]https://www.leupold.com/binoculars/bx-1-yosemite-8x30mm[/url]

Leupold makes quality binoculars, but they can get expensive.

by Scott B on Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:04 pm
Scott B
Forum Contributor
I think the Vortex Vipers suggested above or Nikon Monarchs are both really good mid price range binoculars.

by Scott Fairbairn on Thu Mar 05, 2020 7:16 pm
Scott Fairbairn
Forum Contributor
Ok, thanks to everyone, I'll check them out.

by photoman4343 on Fri Mar 06, 2020 9:17 am
photoman4343
Forum Contributor
I use Nikon Monarch binocular with ED glass. I think mine are 8 x 42. Price was very reasonable and weight is not that bad.
Joe Smith

by Ethan Meleg on Sat Mar 07, 2020 12:14 pm
Ethan Meleg
Forum Contributor