Sign In



Join the largest online community for nature
photographers. An account to participate in
our forums is free! We also offer other
membership options.



Please enter the email address associated with your account. If you have not edited this in your
profile then enter the email address that you used when creating your account.

Trouble Signing In?

We apologize if you are having problems signing in. With our latest website upgrades there have been some changes that may cause a sign in problem until cookies are cleared using the steps below.
  1. Navigate to Forums Home in the website navigation bar and click on the link Delete all board cookies located under the Browse Forums page title.
  2. Close all NatureScapes tabs/windows and exit the browser entirely.
  3. Open the browser and make sure it's not opening up any NatureScapes pages.
  4. Delete the NSN-specific cookies in your browser or, if you don't have an objection, delete all cookies. The NSN cookies have either .naturescapes.net or .www.naturescapes.net as part of their name. For help with deleting cookies in your browser please check out this helpful guide on www.aboutcookies.org.
  5. Exit the browser again, reopen it, and try to sign in again.
If deleting board and browser cookies does not resolve your issue please send us an email at editors@naturescapes.net with the following information: We are committed to providing quality customer service and website support. We will respond to your email as quickly as possible.

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Packed with articles, tips, workshop news, store coupons, sales alerts and more!

We respect your privacy—your email address will not be shared or sold. You may unsubscribe at any time and control which
newsletters you receive.


Products
Reviews

Newsletter
Sign up for store updates, special deals, and coupons!
Your email will not be shared or sold to
a third party. We respect your privacy.
Testimonials
Thank you very much... ..This is why I use NatureScapes, you always make sure that you take care of the customer as quickly as possible. My landscapes in Yellowstone will thank you too, after a week hiking in Glacier two weeks ago the 5DII got dirty and all I have is sensor swabs for my 1DIII and 50D. Thanks again
Dave M. Shumway
I was very happy with my first order! Great phone service and quick shipping. Thanks!
Rob Nerpel

Login to view your rewards.

NatureScapes » Store » Wimberley Head II » Customer feedback
  View Cart  |  Checkout  |  My Account

Wimberley Head II

Wimberley Head II
Wimberley Head II 13
(13 reviews)  

5 stars
12 review(s)
4 stars
1 review(s)
3 stars: 
0 review(s)
2 stars: 
0 review(s)
1 stars: 
0 review(s)

Add your own review



Customer feedback
Most useful first | Newest first
13 results found
Displaying: 1 - 13 results

Miranda Collett
April 28, 2014
Product as good as my last Wimberley 2 head - really excellent. So good I bought 2. It is easy to assembly with the tripod I bought (Gitzo) - took about 5 mins max.
Product arrived on time and well packed.

Advantages: Great product

Disadvantages: Pricey but worth it
Richard
April 16, 2014
This is my second Wimberley Head II. We needed a second tripod and head to replace a cheaper, less stable setup. Sure there are less expensive alternatives, but I know what I'm getting with this one, and it's rock solid on Gitzo legs for both long lenses and spotting scopes. It's also built extremely well. I've never had any problems with my other one in the 5 years that I've used it. Finally, I prefer to support a small USA company.

Advantages: Solid stable platform
Very well built
Will last even under heavy use.

Disadvantages: None
Gary
April 7, 2014
I am using the the Wimberley head with my long telephoto lenses for shore bird and wildlife photography. I like the design of the WH-2 and the greater stability compared to my ball head mount. Complete instructions accompany this head, along with the tools to assemble it. It took me about 15 minutes to assemble, including attaching an arca-swill type plate to my lens collar. The plate does not come with the WH-2 kit, but Wimberley and many others sell these. Balancing camera and lens was fast and easy, and instructions for this are included in the WH-2 kit. The movements are smooth as can be and converting from landscape to portrait mode is done simply by loosening the tripod mounting collar on the lens and rotating 90 degrees. Overall, this is a well crafted and designed gimbal head. It looks and feels very durable for years of use. Many other gimbal heads of various size and weights are available, some at lower prices. I decided to try a well known Wimberley and I am quite pleased with the product.

Advantages: Well designed
Solid construction
Easy to assemble and modify (option to covert to side mount)
Smooth movements
Good accessories and support from Wimberely

Disadvantages: On the expensive side, but it is a very high quality item.
Weight (fairly typical for full size gimbal)
FallsGuy
July 28, 2013
Wimberley II deserves its stellar reputation.

Advantages: Strong, smooth and as close to vibration free as possible!

Disadvantages: Cost is high.
Serge
January 15, 2013
This is one of the best Gimbal head available on the market today.

Advantages: It operates very smoothly and is a joy to use. Very strong. It's large size also helps when using heavy lens/camera combo

Disadvantages: Weight. I hope Wimberley will come up with a Carbon Fiber version one day.
It's also expensive, but worth every penny.
Ed Okie
October 12, 2012
As others have said, "the Gold Standard" of tripod heads for big-lens wildlife work. Rarely, if ever, mentioned is its stellar functionality for macro-work! Add RRS's rail slider bars (7-10") and front to back movement is exceptional - the Wimberley head well up to the induced leverage occasionally encountered

Advantages: Extremely comfortable knobs that are very smooth working, plus well placed. Likewise the thick curved arm serves as a superb hand grip. By far the best head I've used of four major types/brand names.

Disadvantages: None.
Jack Richmond
August 13, 2012
Wonderful.
Well built.
Works with all lenses.
Ron Huelse
April 4, 2012
I never realized the excitement and thrill of useing the wimberly head-200.I had solely used a monopod for all photos except for handholding action shots, however. I was also missing some eagle action.I would miss some of the crucial photos of eagles picking up the fish because of the difficulity of the monopod not being able to follow the pickup of the fish.I needed to concentrate on improving my action photos.I decided after much deliberation to make the move to the wimberly head .I have not regretted this decision .I now take practice shots with gulls that quickly dart and accelerate in flight.The Wimberly has not failed to out perform my monopod and capture the detailed action with precision accuracy.I am eleated -I wish that I would have changed earlier-thank you Wimberly

Advantages: QUICK ,EASY MOVEMENTS -A THRILL TO USE .EASY TO INSTALL

Disadvantages: NONE
Dick
October 21, 2011
This is my second Wimberley head, and I can't say enough about them. Now I can sit in my blind with the 100-400mm lens on one tripod, and the 500mm with a 1.4X on the other.
Jay Medeiros
October 15, 2011
I have owned the WHII for a couple of years now and have found it to be an excellent gimbal head. I use it with a 1D Mk IV and EF600 f/4L IS with and without a 1.4x II converter with excellent results. I highly recommend using the Wimberley replacement foot on whatever lens you use with it. It is very rigid and provided the most stable mounting platform.

Advantages: Smooth controlled balanced action
Excellent Build quality

Disadvantages: it is expensive but it's the gold standard for gimbal heads
Charles Dermody
September 22, 2011
Made in America!!!!! Smooth acting. Simple to set up. Well worth every penny

Advantages: Quality item...... allows use of just a couple of fingers to manipulate the camera

Disadvantages: none
John Cubit
September 13, 2011
Essential for shooting moving wildlife with a long heavy lens, but less useful for time exposures where more stability is needed.

Advantages: Very easy and smooth to use when tracking flying birds with a big heavy lens.

Disadvantages: Even when all parts are clamped down tight, there is some play. This lack of stability causes problems for time exposures.
Calvin
September 10, 2011
I bought a Wimberley WH-200 gimbal head from Naturescapes about a year ago for use with an EF500mm lens, and the performance is outstanding - I couldn't be happier. (I also purchased the LensCoat cover for the Wimberley head as part of the Naturescapes combo deal.)

Advantages: Perfectly balanced, smooth, operation of the gimbal makes it extremely easy to support and operate a super-telephoto lens set-up

Disadvantages: On rare occasions, I "hit the limits" of up/down gimbal pitch -- but only when attempting to shoot at very high, or low angles (definitely not a showstopper).

Add your own review