Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 9 posts | 
by buggz on Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:08 pm
buggz
Forum Contributor
Hello,
I recently purchased Gamutvision.
I think it's a great tool.
I should have gotten this LONG before buying all these papers.
I am in "paper profiling mode" recently, with my ColorMunki.
Though, the only information is on the website itself.
Which is very good, but, it leaves off a lot of information, for me.
Being a mere hobbyist, I have a lot of questions.
Searching Google brought up two old Luminous Landscape articles, which were very good.
And, Goggle found posts here.
Would it be possible to ask questions about Gamutvision here?
I have tried to get some kind of response from the people at Imatest, nothing so far.
I was kind of shocked that the Gamutvision forums had almost no posts!

I would be VERY interested in hearing from anyone who knows about Gamutvision, such as the post below:
Royce Howland wrote: You're right, a more approachable guide for this tool would be useful. As I just mentioned to David, I'm planning to write a "Gamutvision for photographers" tutorial in my copious free time because I think this tool can benefit a lot of photographers. But I think the descriptions on the web site and the tool itself are a bit daunting to people who want something a bit more goal-oriented and don't necessarily want to spend the time mastering technical imaging subject matter. :)

by E.J. Peiker on Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:32 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
Go ahead, Royce is our resident expert on Gamutvision.

by buggz on Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:54 am
buggz
Forum Contributor
Hello,
My ultimate goal is to understand what papers work with what images.
I am only a mere hobbiest.
When I started making my own prints, I found it remarkable that Office Max Standard Gloss
worked so well using the Canon Glossy Media setting.
I use, and enjoy, my humble dye printer, a Canon PIXMA Pro9000MkII.