All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 20 posts | 
by Vertigo on Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:49 pm
Vertigo
Forum Contributor
Hi,

I have a 1DX for testing this summer (!), and I started playing a bit with the menu tonight.

One thing that surprises me is this :

- if I shoot RAW only, the images as seen on the camera LCD contain color "banding" (horizontal patterns) as soon as iso 3200 (very visible at iso 12800).
When later imported in LR, the RAWs look ok, with random color noise, visible when sharpening and NR are deactivated.

- if I shoot the same picture in RAW + JPEG, the image looks ok already on the camera.

How is it ? Can 1DX users confirm this behaviour ? Maybe it's just me, but I have never noticed similarly degraded RAW previews on any camera I have had.

Last edited by Vertigo on Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

by Mike in O on Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:05 pm
Mike in O
Forum Contributor
I may be mistaken with the 1dx display, but my Sony only displays jpeg on the back lcd.

by Don Nelson on Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:14 pm
Don Nelson
Forum Contributor
I shoot at 3200 with RAW only and do not see any banding(or at any other ISO). You may have a camera with an issue....
Don

by Trev on Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:33 pm
Trev
Forum Contributor
I'm the same as Don no issues at any ISO.
Trevor Penfold
Website http://www.trevorpenfold.com
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/trevorpenfoldphoto

by E.J. Peiker on Wed Jul 22, 2015 7:02 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
Vertigo wrote:Hi,

I have a 1DX for testing this summer (!), and I started playing a bit with the menu tonight.

One thing that surprises me is this :

- if I shoot RAW only, the images as seen on the camera LCD contain color "banding" (horizontal patterns) as soon as iso 3200 (very visible at iso 12800).
When later imported in LR, the RAWs look ok, with random color noise, visible when sharpening and NR are deactivated.