Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 16 posts | 
by CalmRiver on Mon Apr 27, 2015 6:42 pm
CalmRiver
Forum Contributor
Hi I'm new to photography but learning every day. I discovered ultralight backpacking just over a year ago and now i want to be a nature photographer. I mostly want to photograph natural landscapes. I don't want to add to much weight to my backpack as i will be travelling long distances. What is the lightest professional camera on the market right now and what is on the horizon for later this year? Im also looking for an ultralight tripod. I understand my backpack will no longer be ultralight with pro camera gear but how light can i go and still take professional quality photographs? 

Cameras I've been looking at are the Sony A7R and the Nikon D750 . Am i on the right path?

by E.J. Peiker on Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:44 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
In an ultralight scenario you can't have a camera that is ultra sensitive to vibration, whether self induced or wind induced since you won't be on a real strong tripod. For that reason, I think the a7 Mk II is much better than the a7R or D750 with it's in body stabilization system.

by bender16v on Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:25 pm
bender16v
Forum Contributor
Member #:02125
For a light tripod I have a Sirui T-2205X that is very light and folds down small. It isn't nearly as stable as my big Gitzo, but it gets the job done and easy fits in my luggage when flying and is easy to carry. It is tough to decide between 3, 4, or 5 leg sections and depends on how small you want it to fold. For me light weight and small size were key with this tripod and I'm sure other brands make similar units.