Moderator: E.J. Peiker

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 38 posts | 
by Tim Zurowski on Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:14 pm
Tim Zurowski
Forum Contributor
After my last trip to CA, I have developed a serious right shoulder rotator cuff problem from carrying my tripod and lens. I have been carrying my gear the same way for 35 years, but I guess at my age now my body (shoulder) just cannot take it anymore. I am seeing a physio for the problem and she says it is about an 8 to 10 week recovery time (if things progress well) So I am looking at options for carrying my gear in the future. Has anyone ever used a shoulder pad like these ones?  http://www.oxmentoolco.com/The_Shoulder_Pad.php   Not sure if it will be the solution, but my physio seems to think it could help a lot.  I have tried carrying the gear on my left shoulder, but I can't seem to last long with it there and end up with it on my right shoulder for 95% of the time. Anyone else have similar issues and have any suggestions to save my shoulder?

by E.J. Peiker on Fri Mar 06, 2015 3:02 pm
E.J. Peiker
Senior Technical Editor
Member #:00002
I try to switch it back and forth but end up on my left shoulder probably 80% of the time. I use the leg covers from lens coat and they give me enough padding. When using a Wimberley head, I place the lens 45 degrees down and lock it and then use the bottom of the lens mounting platform on my shoulder to which I have attached with double sided tape a pad.

by Tim Zurowski on Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:23 pm
Tim Zurowski
Forum Contributor
I also have and use the Lens Coat covers, but it does not appear to be enough for my condition. :(

by photoman4343 on Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:33 pm
photoman4343
Forum Contributor