« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 17 posts | 
by Markus Jais on Sun Aug 24, 2014 2:31 pm
Markus Jais
Lifetime Member
Member #:01791
Hello,

when I shoot things like waterfalls and have a lot of contrast I often expose to the right as much as possible. 
What's annoying is that the histogram on the back of the 1DX (and as far as I know most other DSLRs) are based on some JPEG the camera generates based on settings for saturation, etc.
If the camera can already convert the RAW file why not at least offer the option to base the histogram on the RAW file?
Even when the JPEG is blinking like crazy it is often possible that the RAW file is perfectly fine and no highlights are blown when seen in Lightroom.
No problems with waterfalls, I just make several stops until the jpeg is completely ruined and with some experience you know how far you can go.

I am just curious. This should all be possible just by software and as a programmer myself I find it hard to understand why there isn't at least an option for this. 

Markus

by crw816 on Sun Aug 24, 2014 4:28 pm
crw816
Forum Contributor
I agree with your sentiment. I know I can push my 5D3 about 1/3-2/3 of a stop (Depending on scene) past blown highlights without actually blowing pixels. It sure would be nice if the histogram read off the raw file to give an accurate representation of capture.
Chris White
www.whitephotogallery.com

by rnclark on Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:18 pm
rnclark
Lifetime Member
Member #:01978
Hi Markus,

I agree. But while on the internet one reads the histogram is based on the jpeg, it makes little sense from a software engineering standpoint. For example, why code a lossy jpeg and then decode it just to get a histogram? That would just take more resources and slow down the system (decoding jpegs).